Nurse Practitioner Steering Committee

This steering committee works with us to provide advice and expertise on the development of the nurse practitioner strategic plan - Increasing access to health and aged care: a strategic plan for the nurse practitioner workforce (the Plan).


We have set up the Nurse Practitioner Steering Committee (NPSC) to provide advice on the development of the Plan.

The committee will facilitate collaboration between relevant stakeholders (government and non-government). We will lead development of the Plan in collaboration and consultation with the NPSC.

The NPSC’s responsibilities include:

  • providing evidence-based advice on key policy issues related to development of the Plan
  • identifying priority issues facing nurse practitioners
  • identifying and facilitating contact with relevant stakeholders that are not represented on the committee, as needed
  • identifying projects of relevance to the plan within their own organisations and/or jurisdictions
  • liaising with the Nursing and Midwifery Strategic Reference Group (NMSRG) to provide progress updates on plan development and support links with the development of the National Nursing Strategy
  • reviewing Plan drafts and providing timely feedback to us.



Background and experience

Mr Matthew Williams (co-chair)

First Assistant Secretary, Health Workforce Division, Australian Government Department of Health

Adjunct Professor (Practice) Alison McMillan PSM (co-chair)

Chief Nursing and Midwifery Officer, Australian Government Department of Health

Dr Robina Redknap

Australian and New Zealand Council of Chief Nursing and Midwifery Officers

Dr Chris Helms

Australian College of Nurse Practitioners

Ms Leanne Boase

Australian College of Nurse Practitioners

Mr Chris O’Donnell

Australian College of Nursing

Dr Dan Halliday Australian College of Rural and Remote Medicine

Dr Simon Tolvarsden

Australian Medical Association

Ms Annie Butler

Australian Nursing and Midwifery Federation

Ms Karen Booth

Australian Primary Health Care Nurses Association


Congress of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Nurses and Midwives

Ms Roslyn Chataway

Consumers Health Forum

Ms Katherine Isbister


Ms Tanya Vogt Nursing and Midwifery Board of Australia

Dr Rashmi Sharma

Royal Australian College of General Practitioners

Dr Sarah Hayton

The National Aboriginal Community Controlled Health Organisation

The co-chairs can co-opt members as required.


The NPSC will hold a minimum of 4 meetings per year. Meetings can be face-to-face or via videoconference.


The Department has developed a Consultation Draft and corresponding survey to test the aim, outcomes and actions of the draft Plan. Visit the Department of Health's Consultation Hub to have your say. Online submissions can be made until 10 February 2023.


Steering Committee on the Plan – Communiques

This collection is a list of meeting communiques for the Nurse Practitioner Steering Committee (NPSC) that facilitates collaboration between government and non-government stakeholders on development of the Plan.


Nursing taskforce secretariat

Contact the secretariat for information about the Plan and the National Nursing Workforce Strategy.
Last updated: