Rural, Remote and Metropolitan Area

The Rural, Remote and Metropolitan Area (RRMA) classification divides Australia metropolitan, rural and remote zones. Read about the RRMA zones, how to use them and how to search for them.

What is the Rural, Remote and Metropolitan Area classification?

The Rural, Remote and Metropolitan Area (RRMA) classification divides Australia into 3 zones and 7 classes:

  • metropolitan zone (RRMA 1 and 2)
  • rural zone  (RRMA 3 to 5)
  • remote zone (RRMA 6 and 7)

Who manages the RRMA?

The Department of Health developed the RRMA classification in 1994 using the Australian Bureau of Statistics 1991 Census data.

What is the RRMA classification used for?

RRMA is a general purpose tool for policies and programs related to rural and remote areas.

It does not reflect population growth since the 1991 Census.

How do I find locations classified under RRMA?

To see the RRMA classification of a location, search the Health Workforce Locator.

Last updated: 
13 February 2020

Help us improve

If you would like a response please use the enquiries form instead.