What is the Rural, Remote and Metropolitan Area classification?

The Rural, Remote and Metropolitan Area (RRMA) classification divides Australia into 3 zones and 7 classes:

  • metropolitan zone (RRMA 1 and 2)
  • rural zone  (RRMA 3 to 5)
  • remote zone (RRMA 6 and 7)

Who manages the RRMA?

The Department of Health developed the RRMA classification in 1994 using the Australian Bureau of Statistics 1991 Census data.

What is the RRMA classification used for?

RRMA is a general purpose tool for policies and programs related to rural and remote areas.

It does not reflect population growth since the 1991 Census.

How do I find locations classified under RRMA?

To see the RRMA classification of a location, search the Health Workforce Locator.

Last updated: 
10 February 2021