National Nursing Workforce Strategy Advisory Group

The Strategy Advisory Group (SAG) provides advice on the development of the National Nursing Workforce Strategy.


The Strategy Advisory Group (SAG) is a stakeholder group which provides advice on the development of the National Nursing Workforce Strategy (Strategy).

The SAG:

  • provides advice to the Strategy Steering Committee (SSC) on key aspects of the nursing profession and nursing services
  • facilitates stakeholder consultations
  • considers advice from stakeholder consultations to help inform the Strategy
  • reviews documents relevant to the development of the Strategy, for example consultation papers
  • provides advise on implementation, monitoring and evaluation measures for the final Strategy
  • ensures their organisation is kept informed of key issues arising during the development of the Strategy.


The SAG includes organisations with expertise in the nursing profession and nursing services. 

The Commonwealth Chief Nursing and Midwifery Officer (CNMO) will chair the SAG and co-chair SSG meetings. This will facilitate a strong connection and link between the SAG and the Steering Committee.

Adjunct Professor (Practice) Alison McMillan PSM (Chair)Chief Nursing and Midwifery Officer, Australian Government Department of Health and Aged Care
Ms Kerri GaneCatholic Health Australia
Dr Gabrielle KoutoukidisNational Enrolled Nurse Advisory Council
Ms Jacqueline NashAged and Community Care Providers Association
Professor Rhonda WilsonAustralian College of Mental Health Nurses
Ms Alison WeatherstoneAustralian College of Midwives
Ms Leanne BoaseAustralian College of Nurse Practitioners
Adjunct Professor Kylie WardAustralian College of Nursing
Ms Tanya VogtAustralian Nursing and Midwifery Accreditation Council
Ms Annie ButlerAustralian Nursing and Midwifery Federation
Ms Karen BoothAustralian Primary Health Care Nurses Association
Ms Jacquie WileyAustralian Private Hospitals Association
Dr Ali DrummondCongress of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Nurses and Midwives
Ms Jo RootConsumers Health Forum
Dr Karen StricklandCouncil of Deans of Nursing and Midwifery
GRPCPT Kathryn SteinDefence Force Nursing
Dr Naomi MaloufCRANAplus
Ms Carolyn CampbellDepartment of Veterans’ Affairs
Ms Alessandra PeckNursing and Midwifery Board of Australia
Ms Deb BlowTafe Directors
Ms Shelley NowlanOffice of the National Rural Health Commissioner
Mr Paul HealeyHealth Services Union


Meetings will be held approximately 6-8 times per year and communiques will be published here after each meeting. Related committees or groups.

Related committees or groups

The SAG provides advice to the SSC.



Nursing Taskforce contact

Contact us with any questions about the National Nursing Workforce Strategy.
Date last updated: