Rural, Remote and Metropolitan Area

The Rural, Remote and Metropolitan Area (RRMA) classification divides Australia metropolitan, rural and remote zones. Read about the RRMA zones, how to use them and how to search for them.

About the classification

The Rural, Remote and Metropolitan Area (RRMA) classification divides Australia into 3 zones and 7 classes:

  • metropolitan zone (RRMA 1 and 2)
  • rural zone  (RRMA 3 to 5)
  • remote zone (RRMA 6 and 7).

We developed the RRMA classification in 1994 using the Australian Bureau of Statistics 1991 Census data.

How we use it

RRMA is a general purpose tool for policies and programs related to rural and remote areas.

It does not reflect population growth since the 1991 Census.

Find locations classified under RRMA

To see the RRMA classification of a location, search the Health Workforce Locator.

Health Workforce Locator

Use our workforce locator map to check the geographical classification of any location in Australia. The map can tell you if a location is classified as metropolitan, rural or remote and if it has been identified as an area of workforce shortage.
Date last updated:

Help us improve

If you would like a response please use the enquiries form instead.