The National Immunisation Committee’s (NIC) role is to provide advice on the National Immunisation Program (NIP). The NIC also represent the needs and views of vaccination providers and consumers.

The Terms of Reference of the National Immunisation Committee are to:

  1. Progress and oversee implementation of the National Immunisation Strategy.
  2. Provide advice on the strategic direction of the NIP, including policy and program advice that supports the implementation of the Program.
  3. Represent the views of key immunisation stakeholder groups. These include health professionals, peak bodies, consumers and researchers and the Commonwealth and state and territory governments.
  4. Consult and collaborate with other peak immunisation related committees. These include the Australian Technical Advisory Group on Immunisation (ATAGI), Jurisdictional Immunisation Coordinators (JIC) and the Communicable Diseases Network Australia (CDNA).
  5. Provide advice on the development and implementation of NIP communication strategies.


Current NIC voting membership as at 1 July 2017:


Name Role Position/organisation
Dr Masha Somi Chair, Department of Health Representative Assistant Secretary, Immunisation Branch, Department of Health
Dr Vicky Sheppeard Deputy Chair, Jurisdictional Representative, CDNA Nominee Director, Communicable Diseases Network Australia (CDNA)
Ms Carolyn Banks Jurisdictional Representative Manager, Communicable Diseases Control Business and Immunisation Health Protection Service, Australian Capital Territory Health
Ms Karen Booth Technical Representative President, Australian Primary Health Care Nurses Association (APNA)
Dr Penny Burns Technical Representative Royal Australian College of General Practitioners (RACGP)
Ms Sue Campbell-Lloyd AM Jurisdictional Representative Manager, Immunisation Unit, New South Wales Ministry of Health
Ms Kate Cheney Member Representative Australian College of Midwives (ACM)
Ms Katrina Clark Member Representative National Indigenous Immunisation Coordinator, National Centre for Immunisation Research and Surveillance (NCIRS)
Dr Jane Cook Department of Health, Therapeutic Goods Administration (TGA) Representative Assistant Secretary, Medicines Regulation Division Pharmacovigilance and Special Access Branch, Therapeutic Goods Administration (TGA)
A/Prof Michael Douglas Member Representative Australian College of Rural and Remote Medicine (ACRRM)
Ms Simone Duncombe Jurisdictional Representative Manager, Communicable Diseases Prevention Unit, Department of Health and Human Services, Tasmania
Prof Paul Effler Jurisdictional Representative Medical Coordinator, Prevention and Control Program, Communicable Disease Control Directorate, Department of Health, Western Australia
Ms Janice Finlayson Member Representative Maternal, Child and Family Health Nurses Australia (MCaFHN)
Mr Noel Lally Jurisdictional Representative Manager, Immunisation Section, Communicable Disease Control Branch, South Australia Health
Ms Alison Marcus Consumer Representative Member, Consumers Health Forum of Australia (CHF)
Ms Karly Maurer Member Representative Australian Local Government Association (ALGA)
Prof. Peter McIntyre Member Representative Director, National Centre for Immunisation Research and Surveillance (NCIRS)
Ms Janine Mohamed Member Representative CEO, The Congress of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Nurses and Midwives (CATSINaM)
Dr Dennis Pashen Technical Representative Rural Doctors Association of Australia (RDAA)
Mr Stephen Pellissier Jurisdictional Representative Manager, Immunisation Health Protection Branch, Department of Health and Human Services Victoria
Ms Karen Peterson Jurisdictional Representative Manager, Immunisation Program, Communicable Diseases Unit, Queensland Health
Dr Rosalind Webby Jurisdictional Representative Head of Immunisation, Centre for Disease Control, Department of Health, Northern Territory
Ms Mary-Anne Williams Member Representative National Aboriginal Community Controlled Health Organisation (NACCHO)
Dr Anne Wilson Member Representative Australian Medical Association (AMA)

Related committees and groups

The NIC reports to the Australian Health Protection Principal Committee (AHPPC) through the Communicable Diseases Network Australia (CDNA).


National Immunisation Committee

Contact the secretariat for the National Immunisation Committee (NIC) for further information on the committee or previous meeting minutes and agendas

Postal addresses: 
MDP 13
GPO Box 9848
Canberra ACT 2601

View contact

Last updated: 
16 March 2021