Environmental Health Standing Committee (enHealth)

The Environmental Health Standing Committee (enHealth) advises the Australian Health Protection Principal Committee (AHPPC) on environmental health policy. It brings together expertise from Australian, state and territory health departments and research councils, and their New Zealand counterparts.


The Environmental Health Standing Committee (enHealth) provides the Australian Health Protection Principal Committee (AHPPC) with advice on environmental factors affecting health. 

It brings together:  

The committee works to: 

  • provide environmental health policy advice  

  • consult with key stakeholders 

  • provide environmental health expertise and support for AHPPC’s emergency management role 

  • develop and coordinate research, information and resources on environmental health matters at a national level. 

The committee works with Australian local government associations, professional bodies, universities and non-government organisations. 

Terms of reference


enHealth guidance

This collection contains publications from the Environmental Health Standing Committee (enHealth).




Dr Chris Lease (Chair) 

Health Regulation and Protection, SA Health 

Dr Angie Bone (Deputy Chair) 

Deputy Chief Health Officer (Environment), Health Protection Branch, Department of Health and Human Services Victoria 

Dr Miranda Harris  

Public Health Physician, Health Protection Services, ACT Health 

Lara Purdy 

Assistant Secretary, Environmental Health and Health Protection Policy Branch, Australian Government Department of Health and Aged Care 

Dr Richard Broome 

Director, Environmental Health Branch, NSW Health 

Tracy Ward 

Acting Director, Environmental Health, Public Health Directorate, NT Department of Health 

John Piispanen 

Executive Director, Health Protection Branch, Queensland Health 

Paul Hunt 

State Manager, Environmental Health Services, Public Health Services, Tas. Department of Health 

Dr Michael Lindsay 

Acting Executive Director, Environmental Health Directorate, WA Department of Health 

Jennifer Savenake 

Director, Public Health, National Health and Medical Research Council 

Sally Gilbert 

Manager, Environmental and Border Health, Public Health, Population Health and Prevention, Ministry of Health New Zealand

Heads of Environment Protection Authority (EPA) Australia and New Zealand (HEPA) 

Observing representative

Related committees and groups

The enHealth standing committee reports to the Australian Health Protection Principal Committee (AHPPC). 

enHealth delivers its work plan with the support of multiple expert reference panels: 

  • Expert Reference Panel on Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Environmental Health 

  • Expert Reference Panel on Environmental Health 

  • Water Quality Expert Reference Panel 

  • Radiation Health Expert Reference Panel. 

Learn more about the expert reference panels in the enHealth Strategic Plan 2020–2023.

enHealth secretariat

Contact the secretariat for the Environmental Health Standing Committee (enHealth) for further information on the committee or previous meeting minutes and agendas.
Date last updated: