The Australian Brain Cancer Mission Strategic Advisory Group has been appointed to provide the Minister for Health with advice on the strategic priorities for research investment through this Mission. Its role is to define evidence and knowledge gaps that should be addressed through Mission research funding to assist in transforming health care and health outcomes for individuals and communities. This role includes the definition of key research questions that, if answered, will deliver meaningful change to patients through the translation of research.

Expert Advisory Panel members will consult and engage with other researchers, industry and consumer/patient groups and participate in media and public activities to build awareness of and facilitate interaction with the Mission and with other MRFF-funded research.

Further information on the roles and responsibilities of MRFF Expert Advisory Panels can be found in the MRFF Mission Governance resource.


The Australian Government appoints the Strategic Advisory Group. It is chaired by an independent Chair and includes members appointed for their expertise in brain cancer.


Background and experience

Professor Adele Green AC (Chair)

Professor Green is a Senior Scientist and Head of Cancer and Population Studies Group at the QIMR Berghofer Medical Research Institute. She is also a Scientific Council member of the International Agency for Research on Cancer.

Ms Carrie Bickmore

Ms Bickmore is a consumer/carer and the Director of Carries Beanies 4 Brain Cancer.

Ms Michelle Burke

Ms Burke is an industry-nominated member.

Dr Chris Fraser

Dr Fraser is the Chair of the Australian and New Zealand Children’s Haematology/Oncology Group.

Professor Douglas Hilton AO

Professor Hilton is a member of the MRFF Australian Medical Research Advisory Board. He is also Director of the Walter and Eliza Hall Institute, Head of the Department of Medical Biology at The University of Melbourne and former president of the Association of Australian Medical Research Institute.

Associate Professor Rosalind ‘Lindy’ Jeffree

Associate Professor Jeffree is Acting Director of Neurosurgery at the Royal Brisbane and Women’s Hospital.

Ms Robyn Leonard

Ms Leonard is a consumer/ carer – adult brain cancer.

Ms Sarah Mamalai

Ms Mamalai is a consumer (survivor) – adult brain cancer.

Professor Grant McArthur

Professor McArthur is the Executive Director of the Victorian Comprehensive Cancer Centre / Minderoo Foundation’s Eliminate Cancer Initiative.

Associate Professor Kerrie McDonald

Associate Professor McDonald is the Chief Executive Officer of the Cure Brain Cancer Foundation.

Professor Anna Nowak

Professor Nowak is the Chair of the Cooperative Trials Group for Neuro-Oncology (COGNO).

Mr Dustin Perry

Mr Perry is a consumer / carer – paediatric brain cancer. He is also Head of Government Engagement, Cure Brain Cancer Foundation.

Professor Mark Rosenthal

Professor Rosenthal is a Senior Staff Specialist at the Peter MacCallum Cancer Centre and Director of the Parkville Cancer Clinical Trials Unit.

Professor Andrew Scott AM

Professor Scott is the Head of the Tumour Targeting Laboratory at the Olivia Newton John Cancer Research Institute. He is also the Chair of Cancer Trials Australia.

Professor Brandon Wainwright

Professor Wainwright is the Director of the Institute for Molecular Bioscience at The University of Queensland.

Terms of reference

We will publish the terms of reference when they become available. 


The Australian Brain Cancer Mission Strategic Advisory Group meets up to two times a year, with additional meetings held if needed.

Related committees and groups

The Strategic Advisory Group provides advice to the Minister for Health.

Cancer Australia provides secretariat support for the group.


Australian Brain Cancer Mission Strategic Advisory Group contact

Contact for further information on the Australian Brain Cancer Mission Strategic Advisory Group. The Medical Research Future Fund (MRFF) funds the mission. Cancer Australia supports the Strategic Advisory Group.

Advisory Group secretariat
Cancer Australia freecall
Cancer Australia
Advisory Group secretariat
jennifer.jack [at]

View contact

Last updated: 
3 November 2020