Private health insurance hospital product tiers video

This 30 second video outlines the inclusions for each of the Gold/Silver/Bronze/Basic product tiers as part of the government’s reform to private health insurance.


The Australian government is introducing a new gold, silver, bronze and basic tier system for private hospital cover, to make choosing private health insurance easier.

At a basic level, all four tiers include rehabilitation, hospital psychiatric services and palliative care.

Bronze cover includes at least 18 Additional clinical categories – like ear, nose and throat care.

Silver cover includes at least a further 8 categories – like heart and vascular

Gold is the top tier, covering all 38 categories of hospital treatment.

To find out more visit

Video type:
Publication date:
Date last updated:

Gold, Silver, Bronze and Basic private hospital insurance tiers, and what they mean to you.

Help us improve

If you would like a response please use the enquiries form instead.