Declaration of nine Western NSW LGAs as Commonwealth Hotspots

The Australian Government Chief Medical Officer, Professor Paul Kelly, has today declared the Bathurst, Bogan, Bourke, Brewarrina, Coonamble, Gilgandra, Narromine, Walgett and Warren LGAs Hotspots for the purposes of Commonwealth support.

Date published:
General public

Professor Paul Kelly has declared the Bathurst Regional Council, Bogan Shire, Bourke Shire, Brewarrina Shire, Coonamble Shire, Gilgandra Shire, Narromine Shire, Walgett Shire and Warren Shire Local Government Areas (LGAs) as a Hotspot for the purpose of Commonwealth support from 11:59pm on 11 August 2021, for an initial period of seven days until 11:59pm on 18 August 2021, with review on or before this date.

The recent emergence of a case within this area, who was infectious whilst in the community raises concerns for wide opportunities for transmission of the virus, including in Aboriginal communities. Professor Kelly reminds the community of the risk and requests they continue to follow the directions of New South Wales Health.  

Declaring a hotspot for Commonwealth support triggers, if required:

  • Provision of PPE from the National Medical Stockpile
  • Actions for aged care facilities including PPE, single site workforce supplement and integration of an aged care response centre into the Public Health Emergency Operations Centre
  • Assistance with contact tracing
  • Asymptomatic testing via General Practitioner led Respiratory Clinics
  • Reprioritisation of vaccine supplies, if required
  • Access to COVID-19 Disaster Payment, if eligibility criteria are met
  • Two Medicare Benefits Schedule items for telehealth consultations for patients in COVID-19 hotspots.

Read more about listing areas as COVID-19 hotspots.

Help us improve

If you would like a response please use the enquiries form instead.