Nominate a Medicare champion today

Nominations are now open for the Stronger Medicare Awards.

The Hon Mark Butler MP
Minister for Health and Aged Care

Media event date:
Date published:
Media type:
Media release
General public

Nominations are now open for the Stronger Medicare Awards.
The Stronger Medicare awards will recognise and honour Medicare Champions from around Australia: outstanding individuals and practices that provide exceptional care, embrace innovation, and work together to improve the health of their community.
First and foremost, Medicare Champions are individuals and practices that go above and beyond to benefit patients.
Nominations are open for individual health professionals, practices or health centres and multi-disciplinary teams working across the full range of primary care services.
Nominations are also open to the many hard-working people, such as receptionists or administrative staff, who do not have health care profession qualifications but work for primary care services and go above and beyond to benefit patients. 
Primary care is the foundation of our healthcare system, delivered through general practice, community health centres, mental health centres, and allied health services.
These professionals and their support teams are often the first place Australians turn to for their health needs.
Nominations close on Sunday 30 June 2024.
The Awards will be announced at a ceremony in Canberra in November 2024.
To nominate, or for further information on the awards, visit:
Quotes attributable to Minister Butler:
“We all know of someone who has gone above and beyond to make a positive difference to our health, our lives, our families and our communities.”
“This could be their contribution to patient care, innovation, multidisciplinary care or their work with diverse communities or vulnerable patients.
“Australians know that doctors, nurses and healthcare workers don’t do what they do for the limelight, but to improve the lives of their fellow Australians.
“This is our chance to say thanks and to recognise these Medicare Champions for their dedication, innovation and expertise.”

Help us improve

If you would like a response please use the enquiries form instead.