Stronger Medicare Awards

Honouring our Medicare Champions – people and practices that have made a significant contribution to Australia’s primary care sector.

The Stronger Medicare Awards honour the contribution of people working in the primary care sector and showcase the vital role they play in Australia’s healthcare system.  

The awards recognise Australia’s Medicare Champions – outstanding individuals and practices that provide exceptional care, embrace innovation, and work together to improve the health of our communities. Medicare Champions are people, teams and practices that go above and beyond to benefit patients.  

What is primary care?

Primary care is the foundation of our healthcare system, providing care in communities and connecting Australians to specialised medical care when needed.  

Who is eligible for the Stronger Medicare Awards?

Primary care is a broad sector. Many individuals, teams, practices and health centres all make significant contributions to the health of Australians, while championing patient benefit. Eligibility for the Stronger Medicare Awards includes, but is not limited to:  

  • individual health professionals working in or across primary care services 
  • multi-disciplinary teams working in or across primary care services 
  • individuals without professional healthcare qualifications that work for primary care services and help patients access care 
  • primary care practices or health centres. 

Nominees must:  

  • be 18 years or older as of 8 March 2024  
  • agree to be nominated (or self-nominate)  
  • meet the assessment criteria. 

If a nominee is a healthcare provider, they must have a current registration.

Nominees must not be:

  • subject to a professional practice notification
  • under restriction or limitation to practice
  • under investigation or disciplinary processes
  • undergoing performance management.

Nominees do not need to be an Australian citizen or permanent resident.

Assessment criteria

All nominees must address at least two of the following assessment criteria in their nomination. A nominee’s contribution must have been within the last 12 months.

  • A significant contribution to providing patient-centred primary care services to the community.
  • The delivery of better patient outcomes through new and innovative ideas.
  • A demonstrated commitment to successfully connecting patients to healthcare services in regional, rural, and remote areas.
  • A significant role in building collaborative patient care teams.
  • Working with diverse communities or vulnerable patients to navigate and provide access to health care.
  • A demonstrated commitment to providing quality health care in rural and regional areas.
  • An outstanding contribution to improving primary care in their community.

In the nomination process, you will need to select which two criteria you are addressing. 


Nominations are now open.

All nominations must include: 

  • the full personal details of the nominee, including full name and work or home address (all information provided is treated as confidential)
  • the full position details (if applicable) so that the Expert Panel can assess the nomination against the assessment criteria
  • a nomination statement no longer than 500 words
    • The nomination statement must include comprehensive information in response to the assessment criteria selected. It should not be assumed that the panel has a detailed technical knowledge of the primary care role or location in which the nominee works.
  • two referee statements no longer than 300 words supporting the nomination 
  • the contact details of the referees.

Referee statements 

To be considered by the panel all nominations must be accompanied by a minimum of two referee statements which highlight the contribution of the nominee.

Referee statements should support: 

  • the assessment criteria as addressed in the nomination 
  • demonstrate the contribution made over and above what might be reasonably expected by professional standards and paid employment.

Referees can include but are not limited to clients, managers or supervisors, and stakeholders. Patient referees and testimonials are strongly encouraged. 

Referee statements must be no longer than 300 words. 

How to complete the nomination 

Nomination statements addressing the selection criteria, along with supporting referee statements, must be submitted using the form below by AEST 5:30 pm on 30 June 2024. 

Nomination statements must be no longer than 500 words.

Nominate now


Nominations will first be considered by a nominations committee against the requirements and assessment criteria. 

The Nominations Committee will comprise up to 5 Department of Health and Aged Care officials at Executive Level with relevant expertise with the primary care sector. 

The Nominations Committee will assess and provide a list of all submissions that meet the criteria to the Expert Panel. If there is a high volume of nominations, details of an initial assessment may be provided to the Expert Panel to assist their review. 

The Expert Panel consisting of up to 5 independent, pre-eminent individuals from the primary care sector will assess the nominations and provide recommendations to the Minister. 

The panel decision will be final with no correspondence being entered into or feedback given. 

The Minister will announce the winners at an awards ceremony in Canberra in November 2024. 


All finalists will receive a framed certificate. Medicare Champions will receive one trophy, with one presented on behalf of a team (if applicable).

Awards will be presented at a ceremony in Canberra in November 2024.

The Stronger Medicare Awards will fund economy travel to Canberra and accommodation for individual finalists or one representative from team finalists to attend the awards ceremony at Parliament House.


8 March 2024 – Nominations open  

30 June 2024 – Nominations close 

November 2024 – Awards ceremony  

Date last updated: