The advisory group provides advice on:

  • the safety and effectiveness of potential COVID-19 vaccines, tests and treatments
  • purchasing COVID-19 vaccines, tests and treatments for Australia
  • the options available for manufacturing and packaging COVID-19 vaccines and treatments in Australia
  • distribution and logistics associated with potential COVID-19 vaccines
  • other technical matters related to COVID-19 vaccines and treatments.

Find out more:



Background and experience

Prof Brendan Murphy AC (Chair)

Secretary, Department of Health and Aged Care

Prof Paul Kelly (Deputy Chair)

Chief Medical Officer, Department of Health and Aged Care

A/Prof Nigel Crawford Chair, Australian Technical Advisory Group on Immunisation

Mr John Anderson

Independent Advisor

A/Prof Chris Blyth

Paediatric Infectious Diseases Physician and Clinical Microbiologist

Prof Allen Cheng

Infectious Disease Physician and Professor of Infectious Diseases Epidemiology

Dr Cathy Foley AO PSM

Australia’s Chief Scientist

Mr Rob Hetherington

Independent Adviser

Dr Larry Marshall

Chief Executive, CSIRO

Ms Sue MacLeman

Chair, MTP Connect

Ms Kirsten O’Doherty

Independent Adviser

Dr Felicia Pradera

Program Manager for Medical Countermeasures Development, DMTC 

Mr Mark Sullivan

Managing Director, Medicines Development Ltd

Prof Andrew Wilson

Chair, Pharmaceutical Benefits Advisory Committee


The advisory group meets on an as-needs basis, determined by the Secretary of the Department of Health and Aged Care. 

Last updated: 
1 July 2022