National Tuberculosis Advisory Committee

The National Tuberculosis Advisory Committee (NTAC) is a subcommittee of the Communicable Diseases Network Australia (CDNA). It provides advice on the prevention and control of tuberculosis in Australia.


The National Tuberculosis Advisory Committee (NTAC) has an ongoing role to

  • consolidate tuberculosis (TB) related activities including
    • enhanced national surveillance of epidemiological control indexes

    • drug resistance and treatment outcomes
  • provide expert advice to the Communicable Diseases Network Australia (CDNA) on a coordinated national and international approach to TB control
  • develop, review and implement national strategic plans for the control of TB in Australia.


NTAC brings together representatives from: 

  • TB programs across Australia
    • nurse managers with TB expertise
    • public health physicians
    • clinicians practicing in TB clinics
    • thoracic physicians and infectious disease physicians
  • the Australian Government Department of Health
  • the Public Health Laboratory Network
  • the Australasian Society for Infectious Disease
  • Royal Australasian College of Physicians’ Paediatrics & Child Health Division
  • Australian Government Department of Home Affairs.

Jurisdictional members




Ms Ellen Donnan (Chair)

NSW New South Wales Health

Professor Justin Denholm (Deputy Chair)

VIC Victorian Department of Health

Clinical Associate Professor Mark Hurwitz

ACT Australian Capital Territory Health

Dr Vicki Krause

NT Northern Territory Health

Dr Simone Barry

SA South Australia Health

Dr David Stock


Tasmanian Department of Health

Dr Justin Waring

WA Western Australia Health

Dr Chris Coulter

QLD Queensland Health

Australian Government members

Member Affiliation 

Dr Gary Lum

Australian Government Department of Health

Ms Kim Williams

Australian Government Department of Health

Adjunct Professor George Rubin

Australian Government Department of Home Affairs

Organisational representatives

Name Affiliation

Dr Ivan Bastian

Public Health Laboratory Network

Professor Ben Marais

Paediatric specialist, The Children's Hospital at Westmead

Dr Richard Stapledon

Regional engagement specialist, Royal Adelaide Hospital


NTAC meets 3 to 5 times a year, and holds videoconferences as needed.

Related committees or groups

NTAC is a subcommittee of the Communicable Disease Network Australia (CDNA) and works with:


NTAC publishes its guidelines and position statements in the Communicable Diseases Intelligence journal:


National Tuberculosis Advisory Committee secretariat

Contact the secretariat for the National Tuberculosis Advisory Committee (NTAC) for more information about the committee’s activities.
Last updated: