National Mental Health Workforce Strategy Taskforce

The National Mental Health Workforce Strategy Taskforce developed a Strategy that considers the quality, supply, distribution, and structure of Australia’s mental health workforce. The taskforce included members from across the mental health sector.


The National Mental Health Workforce Strategy Taskforce informed the development of the National Mental Health Workforce Strategy 2022–2032.

The taskforce considered the quality, supply, distribution and structure of the mental health workforce. It also identified practical approaches that could be implemented by Australian governments to build the workforce required to meet the demands of the mental health system.

To form its advice, the taskforce:

  • drew on evidence from a range of sources including published literature, workforce data analysis, and government reports and inquiries
  • established 5 working groups to consider priority areas in greater detail
  • held roundtables with consumers, carers, and state and territory governments
  • ran a public consultation process
  • met as a group more than 20 times.

See the taskforce’s terms of reference.


Taskforce members come from across the mental health sector, including:

  • professional, peak and peer groups
  • consumers and carers
  • Australian Government and state and territory governments
  • Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander reference groups
  • education experts
  • economic and labour market experts.



Jennifer Taylor PSM (Co-chair)


Thomas Brideson (Co-chair)


Mark Roddam

Australian Government Department of Health

Christine Morgan / Lyndall Soper

National Mental Health Commission

Michael Tam / Morton Rawlin

Royal Australian College of General Practitioners

John Allan

Royal Australian and New Zealand College of Psychiatrists

Stephen Jackson

Australian College of Mental Health Nurses

Ros Knight / Tamara Cavenett

Australian Psychological Society

Harry Lovelock / Leanne Beagley

Mental Health Australia

Bill Gye

Community Mental Health Australia

Margaret Doherty

Peer workforce representative

Le Smith

Northern Territory Primary Health Network

Gabrielle O’Kane

National Rural Health Alliance

Faye McMillan

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Mental Health and Suicide Prevention Project Reference Group representative

Peter Heggie

Carer representative

Heather Nowak

Consumer representative

Jeff Borland

Labour market expert

Genevieve Pepin

Australian Council of Deans of Health Sciences

John Brayley

Chief Psychiatrist, South Australia Department of Health and Wellbeing

Tricia O’Riordan

NSW Ministry of Health

Di Stow

Australian Register of Counsellors and Psychotherapists

Advice to government

On 18 February 2022, the taskforce provided its final advice to the Australian Government in the form of a Post-Consultation Draft Strategy and background paper:

On 24 December 2020, the taskforce provided the Australian Government with its initial recommendations, including priority actions.


For the consideration of the taskforce, several research papers were developed:

Public consultation

The National Mental Health Workforce Strategy – Consultation Draft and associated Background Paper, were available for public consultation between 12 August 2021 and 30 September 2021. Feedback from public submissions informed the taskforce’s final advice and finalisation of the strategy.

Working groups and roundtables

Working groups were established to examine the following priority areas in greater detail:

  • rural and remote workforce and service delivery
  • Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander communities
  • workforce training and education
  • peer and lived experience
  • inter-jurisdictional and inter-governmental workforce policies and strategies.

The working groups reported back to the taskforce in late 2020. 

The taskforce also carried out two consumer and carer roundtables and three state and territory government roundtables.


    Read the taskforce meeting summaries:


    National Mental Health Workforce Strategy team

    Contact the team for information about the National Mental Health Workforce Strategy.
    Date last updated: