Mental Health Reform Advisory Committee

The Mental Health Reform Advisory Committee is shaping and supporting the government’s response to the Better Access evaluation and broader mental health reforms.


We are committed to reforming the mental health and suicide prevention system, so all Australians can access affordable care when and where they need it.

Established by the Minister for Health and Aged Care, the advisory committee will consider mental health reforms from a whole-of-system perspective. This includes findings from the evaluation of the Better Access initiative and the broader evidence base.

The advisory committee’s areas of focus will initially be:

  • distributional equity of mental health care
  • low intensity services and models of care
  • solutions for people with complex needs
  • triage, assessment and referral.


Members are appointed for their individual skills, knowledge and experience of the health and mental health system.

All members have signed a Confidentiality, Conflict of Interest and Privacy and Secrecy Deed Poll. This involves declaring actual, potential or perceived conflicts of interest and agreeing to protect committee information from unauthorised use or disclosure.


Background and experience

The Hon Mark Butler MP (Chair)

Minister for Health and Aged Care

The Hon Emma McBride MP

Assistant Minister for Mental Health & Suicide Prevention

Dr Catriona Davis-McCabe

President, Australian Psychological Society

Dr Stephen Duckett

Board Chair, Eastern Melbourne PHN; Honorary Enterprise Professor, The University of Melbourne

Professor Pat Dudgeon
(from 20/9/2023)
Board Member, Gayaa Dhuwi (Proud Spirit) Australia; Professor, School of Indigenous Studies, University of Western Australia

Ms Georgie Harman

CEO, Beyond Blue

Professor Samuel Harvey

Executive Director and Chief Scientist, Black Dog Institute

Professor Ian Hickie

Co-Director, University of Sydney Brain and Mind Institute

Professor Sharon Lawn

Carer Advocate

Professor Myfanwy Maple

Director, Manna Institute

Dr Danielle McMullen

Vice President, Australian Medical Association

Professor Helen Milroy (to 19/09/2023) Chair, Gayaa Dhuwi (Proud Spirit) Australia

Ms Carolyn Nikoloski

CEO, Mental Health Australia

Ms Heather Nowak

Consumer Advocate

Dr Phuong Pham

Executive Director, System Reform and Planning Victorian Department of Health

Dr Ruth Vine

Deputy Chief Medical Officer for Mental Health


The advisory committee will meet several times between September and December 2023.

Meeting summaries

See our meeting summaries for the outcomes of each meeting. 

Related committees or groups


Department of Health and Aged Care National Office

Use these contact details for all general enquiries, comments and concerns.
Date last updated: