Human immunodeficiency virus (HIV) Taskforce

Established in 2023, the HIV Taskforce examines opportunities to eliminate HIV transmission in Australia and provide advice to the Australian Government.


We established the HIV Taskforce to renew Australia’s efforts to end the HIV epidemic and achieve the virtual elimination of HIV transmission in Australia by 2030. 

The taskforce provides a collaborative forum for the HIV sector and other important voices to be heard by the Australian Government.

The HIV Taskforce will:

  • consider and advise on priority action and policies to prevent, diagnose, care and treat HIV
  • review and endorse the ninth National HIV Strategy
  • identify and consider:
    • emerging trends and issues
    • areas to cooperate, coordinate, and engage with states and territories
    • best-practice approaches to increase awareness, education, and treatment among priority groups.

To learn more about what we’re doing to eliminate HIV in Australia, see the Eighth National HIV Strategy 2018–2022.


HIV Taskforce Report

The HIV Taskforce Report provides advice to the Australian Government on HIV prevention, testing, treatment, awareness raising, decriminalisation, destigmatisation and partnership.





Member Organisation
The Hon Mark Butler MP, Chair Minister for Health and Aged Care

The Hon Ged Kearney MP (Deputy Chair)

Assistant Minister for Health and Aged Care

Senator Louise Pratt

Senator for Western Australia

Senator Dean Smith

Senator for Western Australia

Dr Jason Agostino

Medical Advisor, National Aboriginal Community Controlled Health Organisation

Mr Aaron Cogle

Executive Director, National Association of People with HIV Australia

Adjunct Associate Professor Darryl O’Donnell

Chief Executive Officer, Health Equity Matters

Professor Andrew Grulich

Program Head HIV Epidemiology and Prevention Program, The Kirby Institute

Mish Pony (they/them)

Chief Executive Officer, Scarlet Alliance Australian Sex Workers Association

Mr Scott Harlum

President, National Association of People with HIV Australia

Professor Margaret Hellard AM

Deputy Director, Burnet Institute

Ms Tina Hosseini

Research Fellow, Swinburne University of Technology

Ms Penny Kenchington

Vice President, Australasian Society of HIV, Viral Hepatitis and Sexual Health Medicine

Professor Michael Kidd AO

Director, UNSW Centre for Future Health Systems

Dr Christopher Lemoh Infectious Disease and General Physician, Western Health Victoria


The first meeting for the HIV Taskforce took place on 3 May 2023 in Sydney, New South Wales. 



Department of Health and Aged Care National Office

Use these contact details for all general enquiries, comments and concerns.
Date last updated: