Better Access Evaluation – Clinical Advisory Group

The Better Access Evaluation – Clinical Advisory Group (CAG) has been established to give input, advice and feedback on the evaluation of the Better Access initiative.


CAG members will apply their clinical perspectives and expertise to support the design and delivery of the evaluation of the Better Access initiative.


The below table details the membership of the CAG:

Member Background and Experience

Dr Ruth Vine (Chair)

Deputy Chief Medical Officer for Mental Health, Department of Health and Aged Care

Dr Astha Tomar

Chair of the Victorian Branch of Royal Australian and New Zealand College of Psychiatrists

Dr David Mitchell

Consultant psychiatrist

Ms Elyse Graham

Occupational therapist

Professor Ian Hickie

Co-Director of Health and Policy and Executive Director of the Brain and Mind Research Institute at University of Sydney

Dr Joseph Fleming

Social Worker

Dr Steve Hambleton

General practitioner

Dr Walid Jammal

General practitioner

Dr Zena Burgess


Dr Robert Gordon

Director of the Centre for Health Service Development at the University of Wollongong


The CAG is expected to meet approximately 7 times between August 2021 and December 2022. All meetings will be held virtually.

Related committees or groups

The Better Access Evaluation – Stakeholder Engagement Group  is also involved with the evaluation.


Better Access Evaluation

Contact us if you have questions about the Better Access evaluation.
Date last updated: