Australian Technical Advisory Group on Immunisation (ATAGI)

The Australian Technical Advisory Group on Immunisation (ATAGI) advises the Minister for Health and Aged Care on the National Immunisation Program (NIP) and other immunisation issues.


ATAGI's role is to:

For more detail, take a look at:


Consideration of recommendations relating to COVID-19 vaccines is now managed through regular ATAGI meetings.

Voting members

Name Area of expertise Position

Prof Nigel Crawford

Chair, Vaccine Safety, Special Risk Groups

Director, Surveillance of Adverse Events Following Vaccination in the Community (SAEFVIC), Murdoch Children’s Research Institute

Medical Head, Immunisation Services Royal Children’s Hospital, Melbourne

Senior Fellow, Department of Paediatrics, University of Melbourne

Prof Michelle Giles

Deputy Chair, Infectious Disease Physician, Maternal Immunisation

Director, Infections in Pregnancy service, Monash Infectious Diseases

Infectious Diseases Physician (Alfred Health, Monash Health, Royal Women’s Hospital, Sunshine Hospital)

Professor, Department of Obstetrics and Gynaecology, Monash University Department of Infectious Diseases, the Peter Doherty Institute for Infection and Immunity, University of Melbourne

Prof Allen Cheng

Epidemiology, Public Health

Infectious Disease Physician and Director, Infection Prevention Healthcare Epidemiology Unit, Alfred Health

Ms Karen Bellamy

Immunisation Nurse Practitioner

Monash Health, South East Public Health Unit (SEPHU)

Prof Katie Flanagan

Infectious Diseases

Director of Infectious Diseases, Launceston General Hospital

Adjunct Professor, School of Medicine, University of Tasmania

Adjunct Professor, School of Health and Biomedical Science, RMIT

Dr Katherine Gibney

Infectious Diseases and Public Health Physician, Epidemiology

Infectious Diseases Physician, Victorian Infectious Diseases Service, The Royal Melbourne Hospital

Senior Research Fellow, The Peter Doherty Institute for Infection and Immunity

A/Prof Penelope Burns

General Practitioner

Clinical Associate Professor, Australian National University

Conjoint Senior Lecturer Western Sydney University

Dr Nicholas Silberstein

General Practitioner

General Practitioner, Victoria

Prof James Wood

Infectious Diseases Epidemiology, Population Health

Associate Professor, School of Public Health and Community Medicine, UNSW Sydney

Ms Diane Walsh

Consumer Health Issues

Consumers Health Forum

Ms Kristy Cooper

Senior Nurse Practitioner

Aboriginal, Torres Strait Islander Representative

Primary Health Care / Family Nurse Practitioner

Authorised Tasmanian Immunisation Provider

Tasmanian Aboriginal Health Service

Assoc. Prof. Benjamin Teh Infectious Disease Physician

Infectious Diseases Physician, Peter MacCallum Cancer Centre 

Honorary Principal Research Fellow, University of Melbourne

Dr Julia Marshall General Practitioner

General Practitioner, Victoria 

Medical Advisor, North Eastern Public Health Unit, Austin Health

Clinician Scientist (Vaccinology), The Peter Doherty Institute for Infection and Immunity

Prof Margaret Danchin Consultant Paediatrician

Consultant Paediatrician, Department of General Medicine, Royal Children’s Hospital

Group Leader, Vaccine Uptake, Murdoch Children’s Research Institute 

Professor, Department of Paediatrics, University of Melbourne 

Dr Rosalind Webby Medical Advisor Medical Advisor, Immunisation and Rheumatic Heart Disease, Centre for Disease Control, Northern Territory Department of Health

Ex-officio members


Area of expertise


Dr Marcelle Noja

Representative from the Department of Health and Aged Care

Assistant Secretary, Immunisation Branch, Department of Health, and Aged Care

Dr Yashwant Sinha

Representative from the Therapeutic Goods Administration

Office of Medicines Authorisation Market Authorisation Group, Therapeutic Goods Administration

Prof Kristine Macartney

National Centre for Immunisation Research and Surveillance (NCIRS)

Director, National Centre for Immunisation Research and Surveillance

Paediatrician and Infectious Diseases Specialist

Ms Catherine Radkowski

Jurisdiction Immunisation Committee (JIC)

Senior Technical Specialist, Immunisation Unit, Health Protection Branch, Department of Health, Victoria

Dr Heidi Carroll

Representative from Communicable Diseases Network Australia (CDNA)

Deputy Executive Director – Communicable Diseases Branch

Prof. Andrew Wilson

Pharmaceutical Benefits Advisory Committee (PBAC)

Chair, Pharmaceutical Benefits Advisory Committee  

Ms Jo Watson

Pharmaceutical Benefits Advisory Committee (PBAC)

Deputy Chair, Pharmaceutical Benefits Advisory Committee


Membership guidelines


COVID-19 vaccination statements

COVID-19 updates


ATAGI advice

COVID-19 vaccination – Provider resources

COVID-19 vaccination – Patient resources


If your query is regarding COVID-19 vaccine eligibility, supply and demand or any other COVID 19 related query, further information can be found on the COVID-19 vaccines webpage

Media enquiries should be directed to Individual ATAGI members are not authorised to speak on behalf of ATAGI.

For all other enquiries please email

Date last updated: