ATAGI's role is to:

For more detail, take a look at:


ATAGI members as at August 2018.

Voting members

Name Area of expertise Position
A/ Prof Christopher Blyth Co-Chair, Paediatric infectious diseases, Clinical microbiology Paediatrician Infectious Diseases Physician and Clinical Microbiologist

University of Western Australia, Telethon Kids Institute, Perth Children's Hospital and PathWest Laboratory

Prof Allen Cheng Co-Chair, Adult infectious disease, Epidemiology, Public health Infectious Disease Physician and Director
Infection Prevention Healthcare Epidemiology Unit, Alfred Health
A/Prof Nigel Crawford Vaccine safety, Special risk groups Director
Surveillance of Adverse Events Following Vaccination In the Community (SAEFVIC) Murdoch Children’s Research Institute

Head Immunisation Services Royal Children’s Hospital, Melbourne

A/ Prof Michelle Giles Adult Immunisation and Antenatal infectious disease Infectious Diseases Physician (Alfred Health, Monash Health, Royal Women’s Hospital, Sunshine Hospital)

Adult Immunisation Physician (Monash Health, Sunshine Hospital)

Ms Madeline Hall Public health nurse, Vaccination procedures Nurse Practitioner on ATAGI, Queensland Health
Prof David Isaacs Use of vaccines and immunobiological agents in clinical practice and preventive medicine Clinical Professor
Paediatrics & Child Health, Children's Hospital Westmead, University of Sydney
Prof Helen Marshall Clinical and clinical trial/vaccine and infectious diseases research expertise Senior Medical Practitioner, Adelaide Women’s & Children’s Hospital
Prof Jodie McVernon Research, Clinical, Laboratory vaccine research Professor and Director of Doherty Epidemiology, the Peter Doherty Institute for Infection and Immunity, the University of Melbourne and the Royal Melbourne Hospital
Ms Debra Petrys Consumer representative Consumers Health Forum
Dr Nicholas Silberstein General practice General Practitioner on ATAGI, Victoria

Ex-officio members

Name Area of expertise Position
Dr Masha Somi Representative from Department of Health Assistant Secretary
Immunisation Branch
Department of Health
Dr Sonya Bennett Communicable Diseases Network of Australia (CDNA) Executive Director
Communicable Disease Branch, Queensland Health
Dr Ting Lu Representative from the Therapeutic Goods Administration Office of Medicines Authorisation
Market Authorisation Group, Therapeutic Goods Administration
Prof Kristine Macartney National Centre for Immunisation Research and Surveillance (NCIRS) Director
National Centre for Immunisation Research and Surveillance

Paediatrician and Infectious diseases Specialist

Ms Karen Peterson National Immunisation Committee (NIC)

National Immunisation Committee (NIC) nominee on ATAGI

Manager Immunisation Program, Department of Health, Queensland

Membership guidelines


ATAGI meet three times a year in February, June and October. Additional meetings may be held if needed.

Meeting agendas and bulletins (minutes) are organised by year.

If you require earlier editions of ATAGI agendas or bulletins please contact us.

2019 meetings

2018 meetings

2017 meetings 

2016 meetings

2015 meetings

Related committees and groups

ATAGI sets up working parties to look at diseases that can be prevented by vaccines and the future development of the Australian Immunisation Handbook.

Working parties prepare advice that is based on strong evidence and focused on the needs of the community. This includes reviewing and interpreting evidence on the effectiveness of vaccines. They provide this advice to the Department of Health and the Pharmaceutical Benefits Advisory Committee (PBAC). Their advice is also used by ATAGI in its recommendations on vaccine use in the Australian Immunisation Handbook.

Each of the working parties/groups is chaired by an ATAGI member and includes experts in that working party or group's area of focus. Sometimes, a sub-group of the working party may take on pieces of specific work about specific issues.

View the purpose and members of the ATAGI Working Parties.


Australian Technical Advisory Group on Immunisation (ATAGI) secretariat

Contact the secretariat for the Advisory Technical Advisory Group on Immunisation (ATAGI) or further information on the committee or previous meeting agendas and bulletins (meeting minutes)

atagi.secretariat [at]
Postal addresses: 
Immunisation Branch
GPO Box 9848 – MDP 13
Canberra ACT 2601

View contact

Last updated: 
20 August 2019