Aged Care Advisory Group

The Aged Care Advisory Group advises the Australian Health Protection Principal Committee about aged care policy related to infectious diseases and emergency preparedness. It brings together expertise about the aged care sector, infection control, emergency preparedness and public health response.


Under its terms of reference, the Aged Care Advisory Group is responsible for providing aged care policy advice to the Australian Health Protection Principal Committee (AHPPC)  on matters relevant to health protection in the aged care sector, including preparation and planning for prevention, management and recovery from emergency events such as infectious disease outbreaks and natural disasters in services delivering Commonwealth funded aged care.


Current Members – AHPPC Aged Care Advisory Group (May 2024)

Chair – Professor Alison McMillan PSMChief Nursing and Midwifery Officer, Department of Health and Aged Care
Dr Revle Bangor-JonesDeputy Chief Health Officer, Health Protection, Western Australia Department of Health
Dr Paresh DawdaPrincipal and Director, Prestantia Health
Professor Sue Gordon PhD, BaAppSc(Physio), GCEd, GDMngtResearch Director & Workforce Capability Lead, Aged Care Research & Industry Innovation Australia
Professor Sarah Hilmer AM FAHMS

Head of Department of Clinical Pharmacology, Senior Staff Specialist Aged Care, Royal North Shore Hospital

Conjoint Professor of Geriatric Pharmacology, Faculty of Medicine and Health, Northern Clinical School, University of Sydney 

Dr Catherine Kelaher MBBS (Hons) FAFOEM, FRACGP, Grad.DIP OccEnvMedOccupational physician, Australian Faculty of Occupational and Environmental Medicine 
Dr Mary Ann Kulh FRACP MPHMedical Officer, Geriatrician and General Physician, Technology Assessment and Access Division, Department of Health and Aged Care
Dr Lyn-Li Lim MBBS FRACP, MPH, Grad Dip Clin Epi, AFRACMAInfectious diseases physician, Consultant, Aged Care Quality & Safety Commission
Associate Professor Michael Murray AMHead of Geriatric Medicine at Austin Health
Professor Mary O’Reilly MBBS, MPH, FRACP, FRACMA, CICPChief Medical Officer, Austin Health 
Ms Julie Reeves A/g Federal Assistant Secretary & Aged Care Strategic Lead, Australian Nursing and Midwifery Federation
Mr Geoff RoweChief Executive Officer, Aged & Disability Advocacy Australia
Ms Barbra WilliamsDirector Client Services, Dementia Australia
Dr Melanie WrothChief Clinical Advisor, Aged Care Quality and Safety Commission
Standing observersTitle
Ms Janet Anderson PSMCommissioner, Aged Care Quality and Safety Commission

Related committees or groups

This group reports to the Australian Health Protection Principal Committee.

Date last updated: