Under its terms of reference, the Aged Care Advisory Group is responsible for providing aged care policy advice to the Australian Health Protection Principal Committee (AHPPC)  to support the national response to COVID-19 in the aged care sector.

The group brings together expertise about:

  • the aged care sector
  • infection control
  • emergency preparedness
  • public health response.

It will build on existing preparation and planning already undertaken by AHPPC, aged care providers and individual jurisdictions.



Background and experience

Professor Michael Kidd AM (Chair)

Deputy Chief Medical Officer, Department of Health

Dr Anne-Marie Boxall

Chief Allied Health Officer, Department of Health

Ms Andrea Coote

Chair, Aged Care Quality and Safety Advisory Council

Dr Paresh Dawda

Principal and Director, Prestantia Health

Mr David Harmer

Senior Director, Social Policy and Legislation Branch, Queensland Health

Mr Craig Gear OAM

Chief Executive Officer, Older Persons Advocacy Network (OPAN)

Professor Lyn Gilbert AO

Honorary Professor, Senior Researcher, Marie Bashir Institute for Infectious Disease and Medical Research, University of Sydney
Dr Catherine Kelaher Principal Medical Adviser, Department of Health

Adjunct Professor Alan Lilly

Principal, Acumenity

Professor Alison McMillan

Chief Nursing and Midwifery Officer, Department of Health

Dr Linda Mellors Managing Director and Chief Executive Officer, Regis Aged Care Pty Ltd

Ms Gail Milner

Executive Director, COVID-19 Service and Operational Response Program, Western Australia

Associate Professor Michael Murray AM

Head of Geriatric Medicine at Austin Health

Adjunct Clinical Associate Professor Mary O’Reilly

Medical Director, Patient Safety and Clinical Excellence, and Deputy Chief Medical Officer, Austin Health 

Professor Nicola Spurrier

Chief Public Health Officer, South Australia

Professor Craig Whitehead

Director, Rehabilitation and Aged Care, Southern Adelaide Local Health Network

Dr Melanie Wroth

Chief Clinical Advisor, Aged Care Quality and Safety Commission

Related committees or groups

This group reports to the Australian Health Protection Principal Committee.

Coronavirus hotline

National coronavirus and COVID-19 vaccine helpline

If you need information about COVID-19, COVID-19 vaccines or help with the COVIDSafe app, call 1800 020 080. If you need assistance with booking a COVID-19 vaccine appointment, please note the call centre is unable to book appointments on your behalf.

View contact

Older Persons COVID-19 Support Line

The Older Persons COVID-19 Support Line provides information and support to senior Australians, their families and carers. Call Monday to Friday, except public holidays, from 8.30am to 6pm.

View contact

Last updated: 
13 April 2021