National practice standards for the mental health workforce 2013

These standards outline capabilities that all mental health professionals should achieve in their work. They complement discipline-specific practice standards or competencies of the professions of nursing, occupational therapy, psychiatry, psychology and social work.


National practice standards for the mental health workforce 2013

We aim to provide documents in an accessible format. If you're having problems using a document with your accessibility tools, please contact us for help.

Publication date:
Date last updated:
Publication type:
General public

The standards are: 

  1. Rights, responsibilities, safety and privacy
  2. Working with people, families and carers in recovery-focused ways
  3. Meeting diverse needs
  4. Working with Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people, families and communities
  5. Access
  6. Individual planning
  7. Treatment and support
  8. Transitions in care
  9. Integration and partnership
  10. Quality improvement
  11. Communication and information management
  12. Health promotion and prevention
  13. Ethical practice and professional development responsibilities.

Help us improve

If you would like a response please use the enquiries form instead.