Date published: 
5 August 2021
Intended audience: 
General public
Be covidsafe tile

The Australian Government Chief Medical Officer, Professor Paul Kelly, has widened the Greater Sydney COVID-19 Hotspot for the purposes of Commonwealth support to include an additional eight LGAs of the City of Cessnock, City of Lake Macquarie, Dungog Shire, Maitland, Muswellbrook Shire, Newcastle, Port Stephens Council, and Singleton Council from 11:59pm 5 August 2021 to 11:59pm 12 August 2021.

Widening of the Hotspot for the purposes of Commonwealth support is in line with NSW Government announcements made today.

Professor Kelly requests the community to continue to follow the directions of NSW Health and encourages all people to continue to book their COVID-19 vaccination. Getting vaccinated is considered a valid reason to leave home.

Declaring a hotspot for Commonwealth support triggers, if required:

  • Provision of PPE from the National Medical Stockpile
  • Actions for aged care facilities including PPE, single site workforce supplement and integration of an aged care response centre into the Public Health Emergency Operations Centre
  • Assistance with contact tracing
  • Asymptomatic testing via General Practice led Respiratory Clinics
  • Reprioritisation of vaccine supplies, if required
  • Access to COVID-19 Disaster Payment, if eligibility criteria are met
  • Two Medicare Benefits Schedule items for telehealth consultations for patients in COVID-19 hotspots.

Read more about listing areas as COVID-19 hotspots