This content relates to a former minister

John Wylie reappointed as Australian Sports Commission Chair

Mr John Wylie has been reappointed as Chair of the Australian Sports Commission board for a further three years.

The Hon Greg Hunt MP
Former Minister for Health and Aged Care

Media event date:
Date published:
Media type:
Media release
General public

I am delighted to announce the reappointment of Mr John Wylie as Chair of the Australian Sports Commission (ASC) board for a further three years.

The ASC board is responsible for the performance of the Commission, which coordinates the Government’s contribution to the sports sector from grassroots through to high performance.

Mr Wylie has been Chair of the ASC board since 2012 and is also Chair of the ASC Governance and Executive Performance Committee.

During his tenure he has overseen an impressive reform agenda of the ASC and the Australian Institute of Sport through the implementation of the high performance strategy, Australia’s Winning Edge 2012-2022 and the companion strategy for participation, Play.Sport.Australia.

We are now midway through the Winning Edge period and in the lead up to the 2018 Gold Coast Commonwealth Games, the 2018 PyeongChang Winter Olympics and Paralympics, followed by the Tokyo 2020 Olympics.

It is vital that Australia has experienced leadership to guide our elite sporting efforts and improve sport participation. Mr Wylie will play a key role in establishing future directions for sport in Australia.

I am also delighted to announce the reappointment of Mr Pat Farmer AM to the ASC board for a further three years.

Mr Farmer was appointed as a director on the ASC Board in 2011. He holds multiple world records for endurance running, having run from the North Pole to the South, and across Australia, New Zealand, Vietnam, India and North America.

Pat remains an important and contemporary contributor to Australian sport.

On behalf of the Turnbull Government, I congratulate Mr Wylie and Mr Farmer on their reappointments and thank them for their continuing contribution to Australian sport.



Help us improve

If you would like a response please use the enquiries form instead.