Media event date: 
22 November 2021
Date published: 
23 November 2021
Media type: 
Media release
General public

The Australian Government is extending the COVID-19 measures it has introduced to protect remote communities in the Northern Territory facing current outbreaks.

The determination under section 477 of the Commonwealth Biosecurity Act 2015 will extend until 6pm, 1 December 2021, it prevents people from entering and/or exiting the Robinson River and surrounding homelands.

The restrictions limit the movement of people in and out of these communities for only essential reasons, while the virus is present in these communities.

The initial Determination, and this extension, have been requested by the Northern Territory Government and supported by critical stakeholders, including the Northern Land Council, the Aboriginal Medical Services Alliance of the Northern Territory (AMSANT) and the National Aboriginal Community Controlled Health Organisation (NACCHO).

This will help stop any further spread of COVID-19 in the region, but our Government is committed to only requiring these measures for as long as necessary to keep these communities safe.

We have seen the case numbers grow in this current outbreak, and the restriction of movement the Robinson River community is necessary to prevent COVID-19 reaching other isolated communities.

The Australian Government continues to receive advice from the acting Chief Medical Officer, Dr Sonya Bennett, informed by the experience of health care workers on the ground, representatives of the communities, and Northern Territory authorities.

These measures will help to contain the current COVID-19 outbreak in the Robinson River, and hopefully spare other remote communities from the risk of the disease spreading.

All residents of Robinson River are encouraged to continue to follow their local Health Department directions, to be tested for COVID-19 and to get vaccinated by the available means, if not already.