This content relates to a former minister

Statement on Russia’s war on Ukraine and international sport

The statement below was agreed to by ministers of sport or their equivalent after a joint meeting of nations, listed below.

Senator the Hon Richard Colbeck
Former Minister for Senior Australians and Aged Care Services
Former Minister for Sport

Media event date:
Date published:
Media type:
General public

The statement below was agreed to by ministers of sport or their equivalent after a joint meeting of nations, listed below.

Russia’s unprovoked and unjustifiable war of choice against Ukraine, enabled by the Belarusian government, is abhorrent and a flagrant breach of its international obligations. Respect for human rights and peaceful relations between nations form the foundation of international sport.

We, as a collective of like-minded nations, affirm our support for international sport organisations’ position that:

  • Russia and Belarus should not be permitted to host, bid for or be awarded any international sporting events.
  • Individual athletes selected by Russia and Belarus, administrators and teams representing the Russian or Belarusian state should be banned from competing in other countries, including those representing bodies, cities or brands that are effectively representing Russia or Belarus, such as major football clubs.
  • Wherever possible, appropriate actions should be taken to limit sponsorship and other financial support from entities with links to the Russian or Belarusian states.

We call on all international sport federations to endorse these principles, and applaud all those that have done so already. We also welcome the International Paralympic Committee’s decision to prevent Russia’s and Belarus’ athletes from competing in the 2022 Winter Paralympics in Beijing. These restrictions should be in place until cooperation under the fundamental principles of international law has become possible again.

We encourage all international sport organisations and all relevant legal bodies not to sanction athletes, coaches or officials who decide unilaterally to terminate their contracts with Russian, Belarusian or Ukrainian clubs, as well as not to pursue or to sanction sport organisers which decide to ban athletes or teams selected by Russia or Belarus.

Furthermore, we encourage the international sport community to continue to show its solidarity with the people of Ukraine, including through supporting the continuation of Ukrainian sport where possible.

Signed by the following Ministers:


Senator the Hon Richard Colbeck, Minister for Sport


Vice-Chancellor Werner Kogler, Minister of Arts and Culture, Civil Service and Sport


Valérie Glatigny, Minister for Higher Education, Adult Education, Scientific Research, University Hospitals, Youth Welfare, Houses of Justice, Youth, Sport and the Promotion of Brussels of the French-Speaking Community.

This signature commits the French-speaking Community, the Flemish Community and the German-speaking Community of Belgium.


The Honourable Pascale St-Onge, Minister of Sport


Dr Nikolina Brnjac, Minister of Tourism and Sport


Prodromos Prodromou, Minister of Education, Culture, Sport and Youth Office

Czech Republic

Petr Gazdík, Minister for Education, Youth and Sports


Ane Halsboe-Jørgensen, Minister for Culture


Tiit Terik, Minister of Culture


Antti Kurvinen, Minister of Science and Culture


Roxana Maracineanu, Minister of Sport


Mahmut Özdemir MP, Parliamentary State Secretary at the Federal Ministry of the Interior and Community


Lefteris Avgenakis, Deputy Minister for Sports


Dr István Kovács, Deputy State Secretary for International and European Union Affairs


Ásmundur Einar Daðason, Minister of Education and Children


Jack Chambers TD, Minister of State for Sport and the Gaeltacht


Valentina Vezzali, Secretary of State for Sport


H.E. SUEMATSU Shinsuke, Minister of Education, Culture, Sports, Science and Technology

Republic of Korea

HWANG Hee, Minister of Culture, Sports and Tourism


Anita Muižniece, Minister for Education and Science


H.E. Dominique Hasler, Minister of Foreign Affairs, Education and Sport


Dr Jurgita Šiugždinienė, Minister of Education, Science and Sport


Georges Engel, Minister of Sport


Dr Clifton Grima, Minister for Education and Sport


Conny Helder, Minister for Long-term Care and Sport

New Zealand

Hon Grant Robertson, Minister for Sport and Recreation


Anette Trettebergstuen, Minister of Culture and Equality


Kamil Bortniczuk, Minister of Sport and Tourism


Dr Tiago Brandão Rodrigues, Minister of Education (responsible for Youth and Sport)


Carol-Eduard Novak, Minister of Sports


Ivan Husar, State Secretary for Sport


Dr Simona Kustec, Minister of Education, Science and Sport


Miquel Octavi Iceta i Llorens, Minister of Culture and Sport


Anders Ygeman, Minister for Integration and Migration


Viola Amherd, Head of the Federal Department of Defence, Civil Protection and Sport

United Kingdom

The Rt Hon Nadine Dorries MP, Secretary of State for Digital, Culture, Media and Sport

United States of America

Jennifer Hall Godfrey, Senior Official for Public Diplomacy and Public Affairs


Help us improve

If you would like a response please use the enquiries form instead.