Health Ministers’ Meeting (HMM)

The Health Ministers Meeting (HMM) works to progress health issues of national importance which require cross-border collaboration. It is made up of the health ministers of each state and territory government, along with the Australian Government Minister for Health and Aged Care.


The Health Ministers’ Meeting (HMM) provides leadership and facilitates joint decision making on health issues of national importance.

Through the HMM, health ministers:

  • consider legal and regulatory health matters covered under national law and provide governance on issues agreed to in national agreements
  • oversee work administered by ministerial authorities on behalf of government
  • deliver national health improvement strategies outlined in annual work plans
  • progress matters as delegated by National Cabinet.

In 2022, the HMM’s priorities were:

The HMM’s priorities for 2023 are currently under development.

Ministers can also delegate some functions to the Health Chief Executives Forum (HCEF).

The former Council of Australian Governments (COAG) Health Council (CHC)

As recommended by the Conran Review, the Council of Australian Governments (COAG) and Ministerial Forums were restructured as part of the new National Cabinet. The former COAG Health Council (CHC) is now the HMM.

Find out more about the revised health system architecture.

Information and documents related to CHC meetings and decisions are available from the National Library of Australia's web archive.

Reports and publications

Reports and discussion papers endorsed by health ministers include:

National Obesity Strategy 2022–2032

Obesity is a major cause of preventable chronic diseases including heart disease, type 2 diabetes and at least thirteen cancers. The current rates of overweight and obesity in Australia are high. The National Obesity Strategy is a 10-year framework for action to prevent, reduce and treat overweight and obesity in Australia. It is endorsed by the Australian Government and state and territory governments. 

Look at previous reports and documents


Communiques released by health ministers:

For previous communiques.


State and territory government ministers responsible for health portfolios, along with the Australian Government Minister for Health and Aged Care, are members of the HMM.

Members take turns to fill the Chair and Deputy Chair roles.

Jurisdiction Member Portfolio
Australian Capital Territory 
Ms Rachel Stephen-Smith MLA

Minister for Health

Minister for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Affairs

Minister for Families and Community Services

Queensland (Deputy Chair)

Hon Yvette D’Ath MP

Minister for Health and Ambulance Services

South Australia

Hon Chris Picton MP

Minister for Health and Wellbeing

Australian Government

Hon Mark Butler MP

Minister for Health and Aged Care

Deputy Leader of the House

New South Wales

Hon Ryan John Park MP

Minister for Health

Minister for Regional Health

Minister for the Illawarra and South Coast


Hon Mary-Anne Thomas MP

Minister for Health

Minister for Health Infrastructure

Minister for Medical Research

Leader of the House

Western Australia

Hon Amber-Jade Sanderson MLA

Minister for Health, Mental Health


Hon Jeremy Rockliff MP



Minister for Health

Minister for Mental Health and Wellbeing

Minister for Tourism

Minister for Trade

Northern Territory

Hon Natasha Fyles MLA




Chief Minister

Minister for Health

Minister for Alcohol Policy

Minister for Defence

Minister for Major Projects


Health Ministers Meetings occur regularly, via a mix of virtual and face-to-face meetings to discuss and progress health priorities. The meeting schedule is determined by agreement between Members.

Ministerial authorities and national bodies who report to the HMM

The following ministerial authorities and national bodies contribute to the national health system and report to the HMM when required:

Related committees or groups

National Cabinet

National Cabinet is a forum for the Prime Minister, Premiers and Chief Ministers to meet and work collaboratively.

National Cabinet was established on 13 March 2020 and is chaired by the Prime Minister. It manages matters of national significance that need all governments to work together. National Cabinet may task the HMM with work to support development and implementation of national priorities.

Learn more about the structure of the National Cabinet

Health Chief Executives Forum (HCEF)

The Health Chief Executives Forum (HCEF) supports the Health Ministers’ Meeting to deliver agreed national priorities. Learn more about the HCEF.


Health Ministers Meeting and Health Chief Executives Forum

Contact the National Health Secretariat for information about the Health Ministers Meeting (HMM) or Health Chief Executives Forum (HCEF).
Last updated: