Genomics Health Futures Mission Expert Advisory Panel

The Genomics Health Futures Mission Expert Advisory Panel (EAP) advises the government on the research priorities for this Medical Research Future Fund (MRFF) mission.


The Genomics Health Futures Mission EAP was appointed in December 2023. It advises the Minister for Health and Aged Care on the strategic priorities for research investment through this mission. Its role is to define evidence and knowledge gaps that should be addressed through research mission funding. This is to help transform health care and health outcomes for individuals and communities. This role includes the definition of key research questions that, if answered, will deliver meaningful change to patients through the translation of research.

EAP members consult and engage with other researchers, industry and consumer or patient groups. They participate in media and public activities to build awareness of and facilitate interaction with the mission and with other MRFF-funded research.

You can find out further information on the roles and responsibilities of MRFF Expert Advisory Panels in the MRFF Mission Governance resource.


Professor Ian Frazer AC chaired the inaugural Expert Advisory Committee. Members were appointed from May 2019 to 2021.

The second EAP is independently chaired and includes members with health system and genomics-related expertise. The government selected panel members with the skills and experience the Genomics Health Futures Mission needs to achieve its goals. 

MemberBackground and experienceDeclarations of interest
Professor Robyn Ward (Chair)Professor Ward is the Executive Dean and Pro Vice-Chancellor of the Faculty of Medicine and Health at the University of Sydney. Professor Ward is also chair of the Medical Services Advisory Committee (MSAC).

Non-Executive Director, Telstra Health

Non-Executive Director, Lifeblood Australia

Associate Professor Maui HudsonA/Professor Hudson (Whakatōhea) is the Director of the Te Kotahi Research Institute at the University of Waikato. He is a member of Te Mana Raraunga Māori Data Sovereignty Network and the Global Indigenous Data Alliance. He is also co-author of the CARE Principles for Indigenous Governance, Te Ara Tika Guidelines for Māori Research Ethics, and the Te Mata Ira Guidelines for Genomic Research with Māori.On advisory group for SING Australia
Professor Jian YangProfessor Yang is a Professor of Statistical Genetics at the School of Life Sciences, Westlake University.N/A
Dr Shayne BellinghamDr Bellingham is a proud Wotjobaluk man from the Wimmera region in Victoria. He is a Senior Project and Research Manager of the Leaders in Indigenous Medical Education (LIME) Network. He provides strategic advice on the Indigenous Reference Genome as a Chair of Collection Access Research Advisory Committee for the National Centre of Indigenous Genomics.

MRFF funding recipient


Professor Kathryn North ACProfessor North is the Director of the Murdoch Children’s Research Institute and the David Danks Professor of Child Health Research at the University of Melbourne. Professor North is also Lead, Australian Genomics Health Alliance.Co-Chair Genomics Australia Expert Advisory Committee
Professor Anthony GillProfessor Gill is a Professor of Surgical Pathology at The University of Sydney and Senior Staff Specialist in Anatomical Pathology at the Royal North Shore Hospital.N/A
Associate Professor Sarah KummerfeldA/Professor Kummerfeld is the Chief Scientific Officer at the Garvan Institute of Medical Research. She oversees Garvan’s platforms, leveraging genomics, single-cell technology, data science, imaging and clinical translation to understand human disease. She translates findings into clinical diagnostics and treatments.

MRFF funding recipient

Consultant/Advisor at Genentech

Steering committee member of Ramaciotti Centre for Genomics

Ms Kathryn CampbellMs Campbell is the Chair at InGeNA, the industry association for genomics. Kathy is a Non-Executive Director of the Brisbane North Primary Health Network where she also Chairs the Community Advisory Committee. She runs her own consulting firm, which consults across the health and human services sector including to genomics alliances.Principal, Ockham Consulting Pty Ltd
Ms Christine EdwardsMs Edwards has extensive experience in the health, community and philanthropic sectors in Western Australia, Tasmania, and Victoria. She is on the Foundation Board of the Centre for Eye Research Australia.

Community Representative, Australasian College for Emergency Medicine

Community Representative, Australian Medical Council

Ms Merryn CarterMs Carter is a consumer advocate with the Walter and Eliza Hall Institute’s Breast Cancer Laboratory. Merryn is a member of Breast Cancer Trials Australia New Zealand’s Consumer Advisory Panel.Member of the MRFF Consumer Reference Panel and MRFF Genomics strategic review panel
Professor Dianne NicolProfessor Nicol holds the title Distinguished Professor Emerita at the University of Tasmania. Prior to her retirement, she was Director of the Centre for Law and Genetics and continues as a member. Her research focuses on the ethical, legal and social implications of genomics.

MRFF funding recipient

Chair, National Health and Medical Research Council Embryo Research Licensing Committee

Professor Denise Doolan (Australian Medical Research Advisory Board (AMRAB) Representative)Professor Doolan is Director of Research at the Institute for Molecular Bioscience (IMB). She joined IMB in 2022. She was previously Deputy Director of the Australian Institute of Tropical Health and Medicine, and Director of the JCU Centre for Molecular Therapeutics, at James Cook University.N/A
Professor Steve Wesselingh (AMRAB Representative)Professor Wesselingh is the Chief Executive Officer of the National Health and Medical Research Council. He is an infectious diseases physician and researcher in HIV, vaccine development and the impact of the microbiome on human health.N/A

Terms of reference


The panel will meet on an as required basis and at the discretion of the chair. 

Related committees and groups

The Genomics Health Futures Mission EAP reports to the Minister for Health and Aged Care.

The Health and Medical Research Office provides secretariat support to the EAP.


For more information contact us.

Genomics Health Futures Mission Expert Advisory Panel contact

Contact for further information on the Genomics Health Futures Mission Expert Advisory Panel. The Genomics Health Futures Mission is funded by the Medical Research Future Fund (MRFF).
Date last updated: