The Genomics Health Futures Mission Expert Advisory Committee has been appointed to provide the Minister for Health with advice on the strategic priorities for research investment through this Mission. Its role is to define evidence and knowledge gaps that should be addressed through Mission research funding to assist in transforming health care and health outcomes for individuals and communities. This role includes the definition of key research questions that, if answered, will deliver meaningful change to patients through the translation of research.

    Expert Advisory Panel members will consult and engage with other researchers, industry and consumer/patient groups and participate in media and public activities to build awareness of and facilitate interaction with the Mission and with other MRFF-funded research.

    Further information on the roles and responsibilities of MRFF Expert Advisory Panels can be found in the MRFF Mission Governance resource.


    The Australian Government appoints the Expert Advisory Committee. The Chair is independent and the members are appointed for their health system and genomics-related expertise.


    Background and experience

    Professor Ian Frazer AC


    Professor Frazer is Professor at the University of Queensland Faculty of Medicine, Affiliate Professor at the University of Queensland Diamantina Institute Faculty of Medicine and Affiliate Professorial Research Fellow at the Institute for Molecular Bioscience. Professor Frazer is a member of the Australian National Science and Technology Council. He chairs the Australian Medical Research Advisory Board.

    Professor Kathryn North AC

    Professor North is the Director of the Murdoch Children’s Research Institute and the David Danks Professor of Child Health Research at the University of Melbourne. Professor North is also lead, Australian Genomics Health Alliance.

    Professor Warwick Anderson

    Professor Anderson is Janet Dora Hine Professor of Politics, Governance and Ethics in the Department of History and the Charles Perkins Centre, University of Sydney.

    Associate Professor Christopher Barnett FRACP FCCMG

    Associate Professor Barnett is the Head of the Paediatric and Reproductive Genetics Unit at the Women’s and Children’s Hospital in South Australia.

    Professor Christopher Goodnow FAA FRS MNAS

    Professor Goodnow is the Executive Director of the Garvan Institute of Medical Research and the Bill and Patricia Ritchie Foundation Chair. Professor Goodnow is also Conjoint Professor at UNSW Sydney in the St Vincent’s Clinical School (Faculty of Medicine), and is an NHMRC Senior Principal Research Fellow.

    Professor Emma Kowal

    Professor Kowal is a Professor of Anthropology and ARC Future Fellow at Deakin University. Professor Kowal was Deputy Director of National Centre for Indigenous Genomics, ANU College of Health and Medicines, from 2013 to 2017.

    Ms Sue MacLeman FTSE

    Ms MacLeman is the Chair and Non-Executive Director of MTPConnect, a MedTech and Pharma Growth Centre

    Ms Anne McKenzie AM

    Ms McKenzie is the Manager of Community Engagement at the Telethon Kids Institute, Perth Children’s Hospital. Ms McKenzie is also a senior consumer representative for Consumers Health Forum of Australia and former Chair of Health Consumers Council WA

    Professor Tania Sorrell AM

    Professor Sorrell is the Director, Marie Bashir Institute for Infectious Diseases and Biosecurity; Professor, Clinical Infectious Diseases; Deputy Dean (Clinical), Sydney Medical School; Director, Centre for Infectious Diseases and Microbiology, The Westmead Institute for Medical Research – Infectious Diseases Group.

    Professor Keith McNeil

    Professor McNeil is the Acting Deputy Director-General and Chief Clinical Information Officer, Clinical Excellence Queensland, Queensland Health.

    Professor Dianne Nicol

    Professor Nicol is a Professor of Law and the Chair of Academic Senate at the University of Tasmania.

    Dr Simone Reynolds

    Dr Reynolds is a Research Fellow at the Institute for Glycomics at Griffith University and Affiliate Scientist at QIMR Berghofer Medical Research Institute. Dr Reynolds is an emerging leader in Indigenous health and one of the few Indigenous biomedical scientists in Australia.

    Mr Adrian Turner

    Mr Turner is the former Chief Executive Officer of Data61, CSIRO.

    Professor Robyn Ward AM FAHM

    Professor Ward is the Executive Dean of the Faculty of Medicine and Health at the University of Sydney. Professor Ward is also chair, Medical Services Advisory Council (MSAC).

    Terms of reference

    The Expert Advisory Committee is finalising its terms of reference. 


    The Genomics Health Futures Mission Expert Advisory Committee meets at the request of the Chair or Health and Medical Research Office’s CEO.

    Related committees and groups

    The Genomics Health Futures Mission Expert Advisory Committee reports to the Minister for Health.

    Our Health and Medical Research Office provides secretariat support to the committee.


    Genomics Health Futures Mission Expert Advisory Committee contact

    Contact for further information on the Genomics Health Futures Mission Expert Advisory Committee. The Genomics Health Futures Mission is funded by the Medical Research Future Fund (MRFF).

    Genomics.Mission [at]

    View contact

    Last updated: 
    11 December 2019