Australian Technical Advisory Group on Immunisation (ATAGI)

The Australian Technical Advisory Group on Immunisation (ATAGI) advises the Minister for Health and Aged Care on the National Immunisation Program (NIP) and other immunisation issues.


ATAGI's role is to:

For more detail, take a look at:


Consideration of recommendations relating to COVID-19 vaccines is now managed through regular ATAGI meetings.

Voting members

Name Area of expertise Position

Prof Nigel Crawford

Chair, Vaccine Safety, Special Risk Groups

Director, Surveillance of Adverse Events Following Vaccination in the Community (SAEFVIC), Murdoch Children’s Research Institute

Medical Head, Immunisation Services Royal Children’s Hospital, Melbourne

Senior Fellow, Department of Paediatrics, University of Melbourne

Prof Michelle Giles

Deputy Chair, Infectious Disease Physician, Maternal Immunisation

Director, Infections in Pregnancy service, Monash Infectious Diseases

Infectious Diseases Physician (Alfred Health, Monash Health, Royal Women’s Hospital, Sunshine Hospital)

Professor Department of Obstetrics and Gynaecology, Monash University Department of Infectious Diseases, the Peter Doherty Institute for Infection and Immunity, University of Melbourne

Prof Allen Cheng

Epidemiology, Public Health

Infectious Disease Physician and Director, Infection Prevention Healthcare Epidemiology Unit, Alfred Health

Ms Karen Bellamy

Immunisation Nurse Practitioner

Monash Health, South East Public Health Unit (SEPHU)

Prof Katie Flanagan

Infectious Diseases

Director of Infectious Diseases, Launceston General Hospital

Adjunct Professor, School of Medicine, University of Tasmania

Adjunct Professor, School of Health and Biomedical Science, RMIT

Dr Katherine Gibney

Infectious Diseases and Public Health Physician, Epidemiology

Infectious Diseases Physician, Victorian Infectious Diseases Service, The Royal Melbourne Hospital

Senior Research Fellow, The Peter Doherty Institute for Infection and Immunity

A/Prof Penelope Burns

General Practitioner

Clinical Associate Professor, Australian National University

Conjoint Senior Lecturer Western Sydney University

Prof Cheryl Jones


Head of School and Dean, Sydney Medical School Faculty of Medicine and Health, University of Sydney

Honorary Consultant, Paediatric Infectious Diseases Sydney Children's Hospital Network

Prof Tony Korman

Infectious Diseases, Clinical Microbiology

Director, Microbiology, Monash Health 

Infectious Diseases physician, Monash Infectious Diseases, Monash Health

Adjunct Clinical Professor, Monash University

A/Prof Bette Liu

Epidemiology, Public Health

Associate Professor, School of Population Health, UNSW Sydney

Associate Director and Head Population Health Group, National Centre for Immunisation Research and Surveillance

Dr Nicholas Silberstein

General Practitioner

General Practitioner, Victoria

Prof James Wood

Infectious Diseases Epidemiology, Population Health

Associate Professor, School of Public Health and Community Medicine, UNSW Sydney

Ms Diane Walsh

Consumer Health Issues

Consumers Health Forum

Prof Tom Snelling

Paediatrics and special risk groups

Director of Health and Clinical Analysis, University of Sydney

Infectious Diseases Physician, Sydney Children’s Hospital Foundation

Ms Kristy Cooper

Senior Nurse Practitioner

Aboriginal, Torres Strait Islander Representative

Primary Health Care / Family Nurse Practitioner

Authorised Tasmanian Immunisation Provider

Tasmanian Aboriginal Health Service

Ex-officio members

Name Area of expertise Position

Dr Nicholas Johnson

Representative from Department of Health and Aged Care

Assistant Secretary, Immunisation Branch, Department of Health and Aged Care

Yashwant Sinha

Representative from the Therapeutic Goods Administration

Office of Medicines Authorisation Market Authorisation Group, Therapeutic Goods Administration

Prof Kristine Macartney

National Centre for Immunisation Research and Surveillance (NCIRS)

Director, National Centre for Immunisation Research and Surveillance

Paediatrician and Infectious Diseases Specialist

Ms Catherine Radkowski

Jurisdiction Immunisation Committee (JIC)

Senior Technical Specialist, Immunisation Unit, Health Protection Branch, Department of Health, Victoria

Dr Louise Flood

Representative from Communicable Diseases Network Australia (CDNA)

Director, Disease Prevention and Control, Communicable Disease Control Branch, Department for Health and Wellbeing, South Australia

Prof. Andrew Wilson

Pharmaceutical Benefits Advisory Committee (PBAC)

Chair - Pharmaceutical Benefits Advisory Committee  

Ms Jo Watson

Pharmaceutical Benefits Advisory Committee (PBAC)

Deputy Chair - Pharmaceutical Benefits Advisory Committee

Membership guidelines


COVID-19 vaccination statements

COVID-19 updates


ATAGI advice

COVID-19 vaccination – Provider resources

COVID-19 vaccination – Patient resources


If your query is regarding COVID-19 vaccine eligibility, supply and demand or any other COVID 19 related query, further information can be found on the COVID-19 vaccines webpage

Media enquiries should be directed to Individual ATAGI members are not authorised to speak on behalf of ATAGI.

For all other enquiries please email

Last updated: