Aged Care Advisory Group

The Aged Care Advisory Group advises the Australian Health Protection Principal Committee about aged care policy related to infectious diseases and emergency preparedness. It brings together expertise about the aged care sector, infection control, emergency preparedness and public health response.


Under its terms of reference, the Aged Care Advisory Group is responsible for providing aged care policy advice to the Australian Health Protection Principal Committee (AHPPC)  on matters relevant to health protection in the aged care sector, including preparation and planning for prevention, management and recovery from emergency events such as infectious disease outbreaks and natural disasters in services delivering Commonwealth funded aged care.


Members Title
Professor Michael Kidd AM FAHMS (Chair) Deputy Chief Medical Officer and Principal Medical Advisor, Department of Health and Aged Care

Ms Annie Butler

Federal Secretary, Australian Nursing and Midwifery Federation

Dr Paresh Dawda

Principal and Director, Prestantia Health

Mr Craig Gear OAM

Chief Executive Officer, Older Persons Advocacy Network

Professor Sue Gordon PhD, BaAppSc(Physio), GCEd, GDMngt

Research Director & Workforce Capability Lead

ARIIA: Aged Care Research & Industry Innovation Australia

Professor Sarah Hilmer AM FAHMS

Conjoint Professor of Geriatric Pharmacology Medicine, Northern Clinical School, The University of Sydney

Dr Rebecca Hogan

Senior Medical Practitioner, COVID-19 Public Health Operations Team, Department of Health, Western Australia
Dr Catherine Kelaher MBBS (Hons) FAFOEM, FRACGP, Grad.DIP OccEnvMed


Occupational physician, Australian Faculty of Occupational and Environmental Medicine
Dr Mary Ann Kulh FRACP MPH Medical Officer, Geriatrician and General Physician, Technology Assessment and Access Division, Department of Health and Aged Care

Dr Lyn-Li Lim MBBS FRACP, MPH, Grad Dip Clin Epi, AFRACMA

Infectious Diseases Physician; Consultant, Aged Care Quality & Safety Commission

Professor Alison McMillan PSM

Chief Nursing and Midwifery Officer, Department of Health and Aged Care
Ms Maree McCabe AM


Chief Executive Office, Dementia Australia; Chair, Aged Care Quality and Safety Commission’s, Quality and Safety Advisory Council
Dr Linda Mellors Managing Director and Chief Executive Officer, Regis Aged Care
A/Professor Michael Murray AM


Head of Geriatric Medicine, Austin Health

Professor Mary O’Reilly MBBS, MPH, FRACP, FRACMA, CICP


Chief Medical Officer, Austin Health

Dr Melanie Wroth

Chief Clinical Advisor, Aged Care Quality and Safety Commission
Dr Ruth Vine Deputy Chief Medical Officer, Mental Health, Department of Health and Aged Care
Standing observers Title
Ms Janet Anderson PSM Commissioner, Aged Care Quality and Safety Commission
Ms Christine Morgan Chief Executive Officer and Commissioner, National Mental Health Commission

Related committees or groups

This group reports to the Australian Health Protection Principal Committee.

Coronavirus hotline

National Coronavirus Helpline

For information about COVID-19 and vaccines call 1800 020 080. This line operates 24 hours a day, 7 days a week with additional options for priority groups.
Last updated: