The Government is now operating in accordance with the Caretaker Conventions pending the outcome of the 2022 federal election.

Our portfolio

The Health portfolio includes agencies and statutory office holders. These agencies help us deliver the Australian Government’s health policies and programs.

The Department of Health pursues the achievement of the portfolio outcomes in association with a number of other agencies and statutory office holders in the portfolio. 

Portfolio agencies

Note: All portfolio agencies are directly financially accountable to Ministers, Parliament and/or the Australian Securities and Investment Commission under the Public Governance, Performance and Accountability Act 2013 (PGPA Act).

Statutory office holders

There are 6 statutory office holders in the Health portfolio. They exercise independent statutory functions with administrative support from the department.

Six operate in the Department:

One operates within the National Health Funding Body:


There are 5 Regulators:

Last updated: 
10 May 2022

Help us improve

If you would like a response please use the enquiries form instead.