Delivering quality aged care services

All aged care services must deliver quality care. Find out what this means for you as an aged care service provider.

The new Government Provider Management System (GPMS) portal is now available. We encourage organisation administrators to login and setup access for all residential aged care services, ready for the upcoming Star Ratings preview.

Find out how at Government Provider Management System.

Charter of Aged Care Rights

The Charter of Aged Care Rights protects the rights of older people receiving Australian Government-subsidised aged care. The charter is made in law. See changes in the User Rights Principles.

You must:

  • sign and provide a copy of the charter to each person receiving aged care
  • help each person to understand the charter
  • give them time to understand and sign the copy
  • comply with record keeping requirements relating to the charter.

Asking the person to sign the charter confirms they have received and understand it. They can choose not to sign the charter. Their services can still start or continue if they choose not to sign.

Everyone involved in the delivery of aged care must respect the rights of people receiving aged care.

The Aged Care Quality and Safety Commission (ACQSC) has resources to help you with your responsibilities to care recipients.

The Older Persons Advocacy Network (OPAN) has more information and resources on the Charter of Aged Care Rights.

Aged Care Quality Standards

The Aged Care Quality Standards apply to all government-funded aged care services.

From the day you start your service, you must meet standards in:

  1. consumer dignity and choice
  2. ongoing assessment and planning with consumers
  3. personal care and clinical care
  4. services and supports for daily living
  5. service environment
  6. feedback and complaints
  7. human resources
  8. organisational governance.

The standards are set out in law. See Part 5 — Aged Care Quality Standards in the Quality of Care Principles 2014.

The Australian Government announced a review of the Aged Care Quality Standards on 1 March 2021. The review will be completed by December 2022.

The Aged Care Engagement Hub provides information and updates on ways you can register and keep informed on the review of the Quality Standards.

Who monitors quality in aged care?

The ACQSC monitors the quality of Australian Government-funded aged care services. They independently assess all services and accredit residential aged care services against the Aged Care Quality Standards.

Visit the ACQSC’s website to find out how they assess aged care services against the Standards for:

Introduction of a new Star Ratings System

To improve consumer information about residential aged care, the Australian Government has developed a Star Ratings system. Star Ratings will provide simple 'at-a-glance' information on residential aged care services.

Published on My Aged Care in 2022, Star Ratings focus on:

  • 5 Program quality indicators
  • service compliance ratings
  • consumer experience
  • staff minutes of care.

This information will support Senior Australians, families, friends and carers compare services to make informed choices on care options.

Service Compliance Rating for residential aged care

Since July 2020, we have published a compliance rating for residential aged care services on My Aged Care. We developed the rating in partnership with the ACQSC and in consultation with stakeholders, including:

  • older Australians
  • their caregivers
  • aged care providers
  • peak bodies.

You will see the Service Compliance Rating in the Find a provider section of the My Aged Care website. The rating allows people to easily compare the quality of residential aged care services, helping them make more informed decisions.

The rating shows a service’s current compliance position, which means:

  • whether a service has a sanction or non-compliance notice
  • the outcome of the most recent performance assessment.

The ACQSC rates performance based on the outcomes of a range of compliance activity, including assessments against the Aged Care Quality Standards.

Read more about the Service Compliance Rating.

If you do not meet the Aged Care Quality Standards

If the ACQSC finds that you do not meet the Standards, they may:

If a care recipient’s safety, health or wellbeing is at risk, the ACQSC will treat the failure as a serious risk.

Find out more about non-compliance with the standards.

Mandatory Quality Indicator Program

The National Aged Care Mandatory Quality Indicator Program is for government-subsidised residential aged care services.

Under this program, you must report to us on 3 quality indicators. They are:

  • pressure injuries
  • the use of physical restraint
  • unplanned weight loss

This program can help you to carry out continuous quality improvement.

Restrictive practices in aged care – a last resort

Approved providers must minimise the use of restrictive practices in residential aged care. You must also meet specific requirements before you can use them.

Find out more about restrictive practices in aged care.

Serious Incident Response Scheme (SIRS)

The Serious Incident Response Scheme (SIRS) helps to reduce abuse and neglect of older people receiving aged care services. It sets requirements for providers about managing and taking reasonable action to prevent incidents to protect older people’s:

  • safety
  • health
  • wellbeing
  • quality of life.

It also requires providers to notify the ACQSC if specific incidents occur.

Date last updated:

Help us improve

If you would like a response please use the enquiries form instead.