Eligible locations for the MRBS Scheme

To reduce their return of service obligation (RoSO), MRBS Scheme participants work in locations that need medical practitioners. Find out what counts as an eligible location.

Eligible location definition

We use annual data analysis to identify locations that need medical practitioners and classify them as eligible locations. You can reduce your RoSO by working in such locations.

The MRBS Scheme uses Rural, Remote and Metropolitan Areas (RRMA) and Remoteness Areas (RA) classifications of eligible locations. These are specified in your individual contract.

Specialists can work in RRMA 3–7 locations or RA 2–5 locations.

General practitioners can work in RRMA 4–7 locations or RA 2–5 locations.

Working in both eligible and non-eligible locations after attaining fellowship

We call working in both eligible and non-eligible locations ‘simultaneous work approval’. You can do this with authorisation from the department. If you would like to work in a location outside an eligible area, email us and show:

  • how you will simultaneously do your RoSO in an eligible area
  • how your work outside an eligible area will help patients.

Please note any work done in an ineligible location under an authorised simultaneous work approval cannot be used to reduce your RoSO.

See how to find eligible locations using the Health Workforce Locator.

Telehealth or fly-in-fly-out (FIFO) work

Providing telehealth or fly-in-fly-out services from an eligible location into an eligible location meets the aims of the MRBS Scheme. The physical location of the treating doctor determines whether Medicare billing rights can be accessed.

Scaling credits are based on your physical location at the time of the service. If you are based in RA2 and providing telehealth services in RA5, then the scaling is based on the RA2 location.

Date last updated:

Help us improve health.gov.au

If you would like a response please use the enquiries form instead.