Stronger Medicare Awards

Honouring our Medicare Champions – people and practices that have made a significant contribution to Australia’s primary care sector.

The Stronger Medicare Awards honour the people, teams and practices who go above and beyond to improve the health of Australians.

The awards will showcase outstanding Medicare Champions who have worked in or alongside the primary healthcare sector. This includes individuals and practices that:

  • give excellent care 
  • embrace change
  • improve the health of their community.

Who is eligible?

Health professionals, health centres and teams working across primary health care are eligible to be nominated for a Stronger Medicare Award. 

Common areas of primary health care include: 

  • general practice
  • Aboriginal Community Controlled Health Services
  • community health centres and walk-in clinics
  • community pharmacies
  • community nursing services
  • oral health and dental services
  • mental health services
  • drug and alcohol treatment services
  • sexual and reproductive health services
  • maternal and child health services
  • allied health services, such as psychologists, physiotherapists, occupational therapists, chiropractors.

You can self-nominate.

Nomination requirements

All nominations must include:

  • a nomination statement no longer than 500 words
  • two referee statements no longer than 300 words supporting the nomination.

Nominations close 30 June 2024.

Find out more information about nomination requirements.

Nominate now


The Minister for Health and Aged Care will announce the winners at an awards ceremony in Canberra in November 2024. At the award ceremony, all finalists will receive a framed certificate. Medicare Champions will receive one trophy, with one presented for a team. Find out more about the Stronger Medicare Awards and make a nomination.

Learn about the Stronger Medicare Awards, including assessment criteria, the judging process and more.

Minster Butler – Stronger Medicare Awards


Well do you know a Medicare Champion? Someone who goes above and beyond to benefit their patients. Well now is the time to nominate them for a Stronger Medicare award. 

To mark 40 Years of Medicare, the Albanese government is looking to honour and recognise the many people and teams who work to keep us healthy in primary care settings right across the country. 

Primary care is the first door Australians turn to when they have a health complaint. From general practice to mental health, physios and other allied health and everything in between. 

Medicare Champions are everyday people, health professionals, teams and practices that go above and beyond to improve the health of their patients or people in their community. 

So if you know someone working alone or as part of a team that provides exceptional care or embraces innovation then nominate them as a Medicare Champion. 

Anyone can submit a nomination until applications close on June 30. Visit for more information.

Date last updated: