### MEETING OF THE EXPERT ADVISORY GROUP TO THE NATIONAL SUICIDE PREVENTION ADVISER

SYDNEY - 14 OCTOBER 2019

#### COMMUNIQUÉ

Following her appointment as the Prime Minister's National Suicide Prevention Adviser, Ms Christine Morgan established an Expert Advisory Group (EAG) to support her in this role. The EAG held its inaugural meeting in Sydney on 14 October 2019.

As well as comprising representatives from the suicide prevention sector, including experts in Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander suicide prevention, the group also has research, social policy and lived experience expertise.

At the meeting, members of the EAG had the opportunity to hear Ms Morgan speak about how every suicide creates a ripple effect that flows through families, friendship groups, schools, workplaces and communities. She also spoke about her role and what she is hoping to achieve over the term of her appointment. She outlined her expectations for the EAG and its role in providing advice on the coordination and effectiveness of suicide prevention activities, including those that address the drivers of suicidal behaviour across government, the private sector and civil society.

Discussions at the meeting were led by Mrs Lucy Brogden AM as Chair, and Mr Alan Woodward as Deputy Chair, who are undertaking these positions as part of their roles on the Board of the National Mental Health Commission. The EAG discussed the importance of suicidal persons and their carers having helpful and positive experiences with services and supports with an eye to identifying where improvements could be made across services and support systems as a whole. It also looked at the broader social determinants of health and whether they are being adequately considered and addressed through policy and practice. Opportunities to improve data and research along with linkages across government, services and supports with a particular focus on individuals and communities that may be in distress were also considered.

In closing the meeting, Ms Morgan noted the importance of the group to her work and the vital role it would play in working towards zero suicides. Members of the EAG will connect out of session to expand on the initial discussion and will meet again in early 2020.

### MEETING OF THE EXPERT ADVISORY GROUP TO THE NATIONAL SUICIDE PREVENTION ADVISER

SYDNEY – 14 OCTOBER 2019

# COMMUNIQUÉ



## **EAG Membership**

Mrs Lucy Brogden AM – <b>Chair</b>	Ms Nieves Murray
Mr Alan Woodward – <b>Deputy Chair</b>	Ms Stefani Caminiti
Professor Helen Christensen AO	Ms Ingrid Ozols AM
Associate Professor Jo Robinson	Mr Graeme Holdsworth
Professor Pat Dudgeon	Mr Parker Forbes
Professor Maree Teesson AC	Ms Leilani Darwin
Professor Jane Pirkis	Mr Pino Migliorino AM
Professor Myf Maple	Mr Glen Poole
Professor Nicholas Procter	Ms Nicky Bath

To contact the National Suicide Prevention Adviser email <a href="mailto:SP.Taskforce@health.gov.au">SP.Taskforce@health.gov.au</a>