OFFICIAL

Australian Health Protection Principal Committee (AHPPC)

Chief Health Officers Only Emergency Teleconference

2019-nCoV

Thursday 23 January 1515 - 1535 AEDT

Outcomes

- 410011100	
Members attending	
Prof Brendan Murphy	Commonwealth Chief Medical Officer
Prof Paul Kelly	A/g Chief Medical Officer
Ms Alison McMillan	Chief Nurse and Midwifery Officer
Dr Andrew Robertson	Chief Health Officer, Western Australia
Dr Chris Lease	A/g Chief Public Health Officer, South Australia
Dr Angie Bone	A/g Deputy Chief Health Officer, Victoria
Dr Kerry Chant	Chief Health Officer, New South Wales
Dr Jeremy McAnulty	Executive Director, Health Protection, New South Wales
Dr Jeannette Young	Chief Health Officer, Queensland
Dr Sonya Bennett	Chair, CDNA
Dr Mark Veitch	Chief Health Officer, Tasmania
Dr Kerryn Coleman	Chief Health Officer, Australian Capital Territory
Dr Hugh Heggie	Chief Health Officer, Northern Territory
A/Prof Dianne Stephens	Deputy Chief Health Officer, Northern Territory Medical Director, NCCTRC
Vicki Krauss	Director, Centre for Disease Control, NT Department of Health
Apologies	
A/Prof Nicola Spurrier	Chief Health Officer, South Australia
Dr Brett Sutton	Chief Health Officer, Victoria
Department of Health	
Ms Celia Street	First Assistant Secretary, Office of Health Protection
Ms Rhonda Owen	Assistant Secretary, Health Emergency Management Branch
s22	s22
	s22
Dr Anthony Moore	Medical Officer NIR
s22	s22
	s22

OFFICIAL

The CMO welcomed Members and **advised** of his appointment as Secretary of the Department of Health as well as Professor Paul Kelly's continued role as acting CMO.

School Exclusions

Members noted concerns about mixed messages around children returning to school following the holiday break. In particular, children who have returned from China, being excluded from returning to school.

Dr Kerry Chant advised of reports that international students returning from China would be prevented from starting school by several weeks i.e. the presumed incubation period of the virus.

Members confirmed that advice on the exclusion of children had not been given to education departments within jurisdictions.

AGREED – Consistent messaging on infection control should be provided to schools.

ACTION – CDNA to ensure consistency across messaging.

ACTION - Lyn Gilbert to do some work on PPE and infection control guidance.

ACTION - Secretariat to send draft 2019-nCoV SoNG to AHPPC Members.

AGREED – A mechanism by which information is rapidly shared between jurisdictions be established to ensure consistency in messaging.