## Aged Care Transition Taskforce – Summary of ninth meeting – 12 June 2025

Aged Care Transition Taskforce (Transition Taskforce) members supported the Australian Government's decision to seek to commence the *Aged Care Act 2024* and the Support at Home program on 1 November 2025. Members noted that while some providers were well prepared, the announcement has been received positively and was overall the right decision to make.

Members discussed the importance of maintaining momentum and identified priorities for action prior to implementation. These include timeframes for when things will occur, finalising the Aged Care Rules, means testing, co-contributions and Service Agreements, IT testing and monitoring sector viability.

Members agreed to the Department of Health, Disability and Ageing's (the department) proposal to extend Transition Taskforce membership to the end of the year, with meetings to continue to occur every few weeks. Members agreed to changes to the Terms of Reference to reflect this decision.

Members sought clarification around the remaining legislative components for completion ahead of the 1 November 2025 commencement of the new aged care framework and advised on the importance of publishing clear guidance, particularly around timelines.

Members sought clarification around the management of the continuation of the Home Care Package Program, including in regard to maintenance packages. The department confirmed that maintenance packages would continue to 1 November 2025.

Members considered the proposed implementation and operation of the new Higher Everyday Living Fee arrangements.

Members acknowledged the department's work to support the transition for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples and providers.

Members noted the updates provided by the working groups for Digital, Education and Training, and Care Management. Members considered the training approach for aged care workers outlined by the department and the Aged Care Quality and Safety Commission and agreed to continue discussion as a priority at the next meeting.

## In attendance (in-person and virtual):

Anne Burgess AM Chair

Sonja Stewart Deputy Chair, Deputy Secretary, Ageing and Aged Care

Group

Annie Butler Federal Secretary, Australian Nursing and Midwifery

Federation

Professor Tanya Buchanan Chief Executive Officer, Dementia Australia

Professor Jody Currie Professor of Practice Queensland University of Technology

Dr Paresh Dawda General Practitioner, Principal and Director, Presantia

Health and Next Practice

Tim Dymond Senior Policy Analyst, United Workers Union

Craig Gear OAM Chief Executive Officer, Older Persons Advocacy Network

Amanda Hawton General Manager, Home Health, Australian Unity

Emma Hossack Chief Executive Officer, Medical Software Industry

Association

Corey Irlam Deputy Chief Executive Officer, COTA

(Nominated Alternative for Patricia Sparrow)

Claerwen Little National Director, UnitingCare Australia

Andrea Kelly Interim First Nations Aged Care Commissioner

Deidre McGill Chief Operating Officer, Home & Community Support,

**Bolton Clarke** 

Mel Metz Deputy Commissioner, Sector Capability and Regulatory

Strategy Aged Care Quality and Safety Commission

(Nominated Alternative for Liz Hefren-Webb)

Simon Miller Chief Executive Officer, Anglicare

Natalie Molloy Head of Operations and Clinical Governance,

HammondCare

Tom Symondson Chief Executive Officer, Ageing Australia

Stephen Teulan Board Chair, Catholic Healthcare

Lloyd Williams National Secretary, Health Services Union

**Apologies** 

Liz Hefren-Webb Aged Care Quality and Safety Commissioner

Patricia Sparrow Chief Executive Officer, COTA