Aged Care Transition Taskforce – Summary of Sixth meeting – 31 March 2025

Members were advised that the Department of Health and Aged Care (the department) has been operating in accordance with caretaker conventions as a result of the Prime Minister calling a Federal Election on 28 March 2025. The department noted that departmental representatives would continue to update the Aged Care Transition Taskforce (Transition Taskforce) within these conventions.

Members discussed the readiness activities progressing across the Aged Care Quality and Safety Commission, Services Australia and the department. Members considered the Provider Operational Readiness – Priority Actions List and advised on ways to reduce pressure on the sector.

Members considered the final release of the Aged Care Rules, Stage 4B. Stage 4B covers Rules regarding entry into the aged care system, registered providers, digital platform operators, accommodation costs, management of the aged care system, information management and reviewable decisions.

Members acknowledged the updates provided by the training and education, digital, and care management working groups. Members advised on:

- the importance of timing the training modules for maximum uptake
- workforce preparation
- training module application/s
- critical elements of care management; and
- monitoring arrangements post implementation.

Members were updated on the communication strategy and progress of key guidance documents to assist older people with transition. Members advised on the need to further leverage their older people networks to communicate more actively.

Members considered the implementation approach for Support at Home co-contribution and means testing arrangements, and provided advice including on service agreements.

Members agreed that the Transition Taskforce should continue in its role until September 2025, to support implementation and troubleshoot any issues arising after the new Act's commencement.

In attendance (in-person and virtual):

Anne Burgess AM	Chair
Sonja Stewart	Deputy Chair and Deputy Secretary, Ageing and Aged Care Group
Annie Butler	Federal Secretary, Australian Nursing and Midwifery Federation

Aged Care Transition Taskforce – Summary of Sixth meeting – 31 March 2025

Dr Paresh Dawda	General Practitioner, Principal and Director, Prestantia Health and Next Practice
Tim Dymond	Senior Policy Analyst, United Workers Union
Craig Gear OAM	Chief Executive Officer, Older Persons Advocacy Network
Andrea Kelly	Interim First Nations Aged Care Commissioner
Amanda Hawton	Executive Director, Reform, Australian Unity
Liz Hefren-Webb	Aged Care Quality and Safety Commissioner
Emma Hossack	Chief Executive Officer, Medical Software Industry Association
Claerwen Little	National Director, UnitingCare Australia
Deidre McGill	Chief Operating Officer, Home & Community Support, Bolton Clarke
Simon Miller	Chief Executive Officer, Anglicare
Natalie Molloy	Head of Operations and Clinical Governance, HammondCare
Patricia Sparrow	Chief Executive Officer, COTA
Tom Symondson	Chief Executive Officer, Ageing Australia
Lloyd Williams	National Secretary, Health Services Union
Sonya Smart	Catholic Healthcare
	(Nominated alternative for Stephen Teulan)
Dr Kaele Stokes	Dementia Australia
	(Nominated alternative for Prof Tanya Buchanan)
Apologies	
Prof Tanya Buchanan	Chief Executive Officer, Dementia Australia
Prof Jody Currie	Professor of Practice, Queensland University of Technology

Stephen Teulan Board Chair, Catholic Healthcare