Aged Care Transition Taskforce – Summary of eighth meeting – 19 May 2025

Aged Care Transition Taskforce (Transition Taskforce) members welcomed the Minister for Aged Care and Seniors, the Hon. Sam Rae MP for part of the meeting. The Chair, Anne Burgess AM, provided the Minister with an update on the work and progress of the Transition Taskforce and key implementation issues. The Minister acknowledged the important role of the Transition Taskforce in the transition process and noted that aged care reform remained a key priority for the Australian Government.

Members advised on the importance of communication, education and training as part of aged care reform. In particular members:

- acknowledged the potential for different levels of ICT readiness among providers and the importance of tailoring guidance and support material
- sought further information on the outreach underway to support providers delivering services to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people, and
- advised on communication for the Support at Home program to assist in discussions with transitioning participants.

Members considered key issues raised during consultation on Higher Everyday Living Fees. Members advised on the Additional Service Fees and Extra Service Fees to be transitioned to the new Higher Everyday Living Fees arrangements and consumer protections.

Members advised on a proposed implementation user experience for the transition to the *Aged Care Act 2024* considering pressure points in parallel with targeted and broader communication. Members also considered mechanisms to support pre and post implementation including work to manage and mitigate service disruption through the transition process.

Members acknowledged the updates provided by the working groups for Digital, Education and Training, and Care Management.

In attendance (in-person and virtual):

| Anne Burgess AM | Chair |
|--------------------------|--|
| Sonja Stewart | Deputy Chair, Deputy Secretary, Ageing and Aged Care Group |
| Buddy Bell | Office of the Interim First Nations Aged Care Commissioner |
| | (Nominated Alternative for Andrea Kelly) |
| Professor Tanya Buchanan | Chief Executive Officer, Dementia Australia |
| Tim Dymond | Senior Policy Analyst, United Workers Union |
| Craig Gear OAM | Chief Executive Officer, Older Persons Advocacy Network |

Aged Care Transition Taskforce – Summary of eighth meeting – 19 May 2025

Amanda Hawton General Manager, Home Health, Australian Unity

Emma Hossack Chief Executive Officer, Medical Software Industry Association

Claerwen Little National Director, UnitingCare Australia

Deidre McGill Chief Operating Officer, Home & Community Support, Bolton

Clarke

Mel Metz Deputy Commissioner, Sector Capability and Regulatory

Strategy Aged Care Quality and Safety Commission

(Nominated Alternative for Liz Hefren-Webb)

Simon Miller Chief Executive Officer, Anglicare

Natalie Molloy Head of Operations and Clinical Governance, HammondCare

Patricia Sparrow Chief Executive Officer, COTA

Tom Symondson Chief Executive Officer, Ageing Australia

Stephen Teulan Board Chair, Catholic Healthcare

Lloyd Williams National Secretary, Health Services Union

Apologies

Annie Butler Federal Secretary, Australian Nursing and Midwifery

Federation

Professor Jody Currie Professor of Practice Queensland University of Technology

Dr Paresh Dawda General Practitioner, Principal and Director, Presantia Health

and Next Practice

Liz Hefren-Webb Aged Care Quality and Safety Commissioner

Andrea Kelly Interim First Nations Aged Care Commissioner