Aged Care Transition Taskforce Terms of Reference

Purpose

The Aged Care Transition Taskforce (Transition Taskforce) is a non-statutory departmental committee that will work collaboratively to bring the aged care sector through the transition journey to the new Aged Care Act from 1 July 2025. The Transition Taskforce will work to identify and address implementation issues and provide expert advice to the Minister for Aged Care and the Department of Health and Aged Care (the department).

Functions

The Transition Taskforce will provide oversight and stewardship of reforms to the aged care system proposed through the Aged Care Act 2024 and the Government's response to the Aged Care Taskforce so that Australia has an aged care system that is fair and equitable for everyone.

In practice this means:

- Monitoring and evaluating the progress of aged care reform projects and initiatives to align with overall strategic objectives.
- Identifying and escalating issues that are likely to impact reform implementation and suggesting solutions.
- Actively maintaining high level oversight of risk management activities and identifying where risk is not being effectively managed.

The Transition Taskforce will have oversight of five implementation and transition streams, with membership reflecting experience and expertise in these areas:

- Implementing the drafted Rules and other subordinate legislation from 1 July 2025
- Education and training
- Communication and change management
- Funding and fee structure
- Data and digital

Membership

The Transition Taskforce brings together the department, the Aged Care Quality and Safety Commission, consumer advocates, workforce representatives, residential and home care providers, digital, primary care and clinical experts to support the sector to prepare to transition to the new Aged Care Act from 1 July 2025. A list of the Transition Taskforce membership is at <u>Attachment A</u>.

The Minister for Aged Care has instructed the department to take responsibility for engaging members.

Members are engaged as individuals who are policy leaders and experts with the ability to provide representative advice. Members may represent the views of their organisation or affiliations but agree to come together in the best interests of older people and Australia's aged care system.

Chair and Deputy Chair

The Transition Taskforce will be Chaired by an independent representative. The Deputy Chair will be the Deputy Secretary of the Ageing and Aged Care Group. The Chair will lead meetings and guide the work of the Transition Taskforce, with the support of the Deputy Chair.

The Chair may appoint another member of the committee to Chair all or part of a meeting at their sole discretion.

Attendance

Where members cannot attend a meeting, they may nominate for the Chair/Deputy Chair's consideration a suitable candidate with relevant expertise to attend. This candidate may participate in discussion and advise on issues raised. The department may also review the proposed agenda and explore options to postpone items that specifically focus on the members' area of expertise. Members may also wish to submit views and advice in writing prior to the meeting.

With the Chair/Deputy Chair's prior approval, individuals and organisations may also be invited to attend discussions where they have relevant knowledge, expertise or experience.

Secretariat	The department will support the Transition Taskforce including responding to advice, coordinating a work program, agendas, papers, records of meetings and all travel and reimbursement arrangements.
Frequency of meetings	 Fortnightly for approximately 2- 3 hours, or as needed approximately 14 meetings a forward schedule of meetings will be circulated
	The need for the Taskforce will be reviewed in June 2025.
Papers	 To be developed by Members and/or the department at the request of the Chair circulated 3 business days prior to the meeting or as soon as practicable.
Record of Meeting	A summary of key discussion points and action items will be provided to members within five business days of the meeting and published on the department's website as soon as possible after each meeting.

Meeting Administration

Confidentiality and Conflict of Interest

Members will be required to sign a confidentiality agreement and declare any real or perceived conflicts of interest before the first meeting.

- Members will advise of any changes in their real or potential conflicts of interest at the commencement of each meeting.
- A member of the Transition Taskforce who has declared a real or potential conflict of interest may participate in the discussion on that matter, subject to the approval of the Chair.

All discussions undertaken by the Transition Taskforce are in confidence, to ensure members can genuinely engage on issues. Discussions should not be considered as agreement or commitment by Government.

The Transition Taskforce will aim to operate transparently with documents prepared by or presented to the Transition Taskforce only assumed to be confidential where identified as such. Transition Taskforce members however shall not report or attribute comments of individuals nor their affiliations outside of meetings.

Attachment A – Membership

Anne Burgess AM	Chair
Sonja Stewart	Deputy Chair Deputy Secretary, Ageing and Aged Care Group, Department of Health and Aged Care
Liz Hefren-Webb	Aged Care Quality and Safety Commissioner
Professor Tanya Buchanan	CEO, Dementia Australia
Annie Butler	Federal Secretary, Australian Nursing and Midwifery Federation
Professor Jody Currie	Professor of Practice, Queensland University of Technology
Dr Paresh Dawda	General Practitioner, Principal and Director Presantia Health and Next Practice
Tim Dymond	Senior Policy Analyst United Workers Union
Craig Gear OAM	CEO, Older Persons Advocacy Network
Amanda Hawton	Executive Director, Reform, Australian Unity
Emma Hossack	CEO, Medical Software Industry Association
Andrea Kelly	Interim First Nations Aged Care Commissioner, Department of Health and Aged Care
Claerwen Little	National Director, UnitingCare Australia
Deidre McGill	Chief Operating Officer Home & Community Support, Bolton Clarke
Simon Miller	CEO, Anglicare
Natalie Molloy	Head of Operations and Clinical Governance, HammondCare
Patricia Sparrow	CEO, COTA Australia
Tom Symondson	CEO, Ageing Australia (formerly named Aged and Community Care Providers Association (ACCPA))
Stephen Teulan	Board Chair, Catholic Healthcare
Lloyd Williams	National Secretary, Health Services Union

Observers/co-opted representatives

Various	Department of Health and Aged Care, Services Australia and other
	Commonwealth officials as needed