Aged Care Transition Taskforce – Summary of fourth meeting – 17 February 2025

Members considered Stage 3 of the Aged Care Rules (Rules) that cover obligations on registered providers. A 'Question and Answer' panel session was held with policy leads from the Department of Health and Aged Care (the department). Members sought clarification and additional detail on worker screening and the role of state and territory governments and the Commonwealth.

Members discussed proposed solutions to implementation issues raised on the contribution policy under the Support at Home program and the department's update on the plan for providing the sector with further information on funding, and the broader Support at Home program.

Members advised on the 'no worse off' principle and grandfathering arrangements, means testing and Service Agreements, hardship provisions and bad debt. Members sought further detail on the department's approach to communicate on these issues and emphasised the importance of information that is fit for purpose and culturally appropriate. Members sought further time to discuss at the next meeting on 5 March 2025.

Members advised on risks regarding provider readiness and the time remaining to 1 July 2025 for system updates, workforce training and general preparedness.

Building on the <u>Data and Digital Roadmap</u>, the department provided members with an overview of staged digital implementation and a provider digital readiness checklist that will support providers to prioritise critical activities for digital readiness. Members agreed to have a further briefing session with the department on 21 February.

In attendance (in-person and virtual):

Anne Burgess AM Chair

Sonja Stewart Deputy Chair, Deputy Secretary, Ageing and Aged Care Group

Prof Tanya Buchanan CEO Dementia Australia

Annie Butler Federal Secretary, Australian Nursing and Midwifery Federation

Dr Paresh Dawda General Practitioner, Principal and Director Prestantia Health and

Next Practice

Tim Dymond Senior Policy Analyst, United Workers Union

Craig Gear OAM CEO Older Persons Advocacy Network

Amanda Hawton Executive Director, Reform Australian Unity

Liz Hefren-Webb Commissioner, Aged Care Quality and Safety Commission

Emma Hossack CEO Medical Software Industry Association

Aged Care Transition Taskforce – Summary of fourth meeting – 17 February 2025

Claerwen Little National Director, UnitingCare Australia

Deidre McGill Chief Operating Officer, Home & Community Support Bolton Clarke

Simon Miller Chief Executive Officer, Anglicare

Natalie Molloy Head of Operations and Clinical Governance, HammondCare

Patricia Sparrow Chief Executive Officer, COTA

Tom Symondson CEO, Ageing Australia (ACCPA)

Stephen Teulan Board Chair, Catholic Healthcare Limited

Luke Hiscox National Secretary Health Services

(nominated alternative for Lloyd Williams)

Apologies

Prof Jody Currie Professor of Practice Queensland University of Technology

Andrea Kelly Interim First Nations Aged Care Commissioner

Lloyd Williams National Secretary Health Services