Aged Care Transition Taskforce – Summary of third meeting – 20 January 2025

Members welcomed Sonja Stewart (Deputy Secretary, Ageing and Aged Care Group) as the new Deputy Chair and Liz Hefren-Webb, Commissioner, Aged Care Quality and Safety Commission as a new member to the Aged Care Transition Taskforce.

Members considered further details around the consultation process and key engagement dates for the Aged Care Rules. Members advised on supporting documents that seek to explain some of the funding arrangements, including for existing care recipients. Members discussed useful approaches to collect and summarise feedback from the consultation phase and the criticality of timing for the release of the Rules.

Members discussed sector 'digital readiness' and what being 'digitally ready' for the *Aged Care Act 2024* means for providers. Members discussed the critical readiness activities for providers, which will be shared publicly as a resource. Options to assist and support the full cross-section of providers was explored, including a potential pilot to understand digital and operational readiness. The outcomes and communication on ICT support, delivery mechanisms and related timeframes will be made available to the sector.

Members discussed the Sector Change Plan, which provides an overview of the communication, engagement, guidance and training activities planned to support older people and the sector to transition to the *Aged Care Act 2024*. Members discussed the associated readiness activities and provided detailed feedback, including:

- clearly articulating cultural change needed,
- capturing the impact and rationale for changes, and
- being clearer on the Statement of Rights and the right to culturally safe care.

A detailed month-by-month view will also be shared to continue to workshop the management of sector change in coming meetings.

Members considered questions, concerns and input received to date from the aged care sector. Members are proposing mitigation strategies to complement departmental handling approaches and these are being used to guide the structure of the Taskforce forward workplan.

The next meeting of the Taskforce is scheduled for 17 February 2025.

In attendance (in-person and virtual):

Anne Burgess AM Chair

Sonja Stewart Deputy Chair

Prof Tanya Buchanan CEO Dementia Australia

Prof Jody Currie Professor of Practice Queensland University of Technology

Dr Paresh Dawda General Practitioner, Principal and Director Presantia Health and Next

Practice

Craig Gear OAM CEO Older Persons Advocacy Network

Amanda Hawton Executive Director, Reform Australian Unity

Liz Hefren-Webb Commissioner, Aged Care Quality and Safety Commission

Emma Hossack CEO Medical Software Industry Association

Andrea Kelly Interim First Nations Aged Care Commissioner, Department of Health and

Aged Care

Deidre McGill Chief Operating Officer, Home & Community Support Bolton Clarke

Simon Miller Chief Executive Officer, Anglicare

Natalie Molloy Head of Operations and Clinical Governance, HammondCare

Patricia Sparrow Chief Executive Officer, COTA

Luke Hiscock National Secretary Health Services

(nominated alternative for Lloyd Williams)

Julie Reeves Australian Nursing and Midwifery Federation

(nominated alternative for Annie Butler)

Sonya Smart Catholic Healthcare Limited

(nominated alternative for Stephen Teulan)

Roald Versteeg ACCPA (to be known as Ageing Australia)

(nominated alternative for Tom Symondson)

Georgina Watson UnitingCare Australia

(nominated alternative for Claerwen Little)

Apologies

Annie Butler, Federal Secretary, Australian Nursing and Midwifery Federation

Tim Dymond, Senior Policy Analyst, United Workers Union

Claerwen Little, National Director, UnitingCare Australia

Tom Symondson, CEO, Ageing Australia (ACCPA)

Mr Stephen Teulan, Board Chair, Catholic Healthcare Limited

Lloyd Williams, National Secretary Health Services

Observers

Jacqui Houghton, National Manager, Aged Care Projects, Services Australia

Emma Jobson, Executive Director, Regulatory Strategy and Policy, Aged Care Quality and Safety Commission