12 December 2023

Strengthening Medicare Implementation Oversight Committee Meeting 2 Communiqué

The second meeting of the Strengthening Medicare Implementation Oversight Committee (IOC) was held on Tuesday 12 December 2023 at 1.30pm (AEDT) via videoconference.

The meeting was co-chaired by Ms Celia Street, Acting Deputy Secretary, Primary and Community Care Group and Ms Penny Shakespeare, Deputy Secretary, Health Resourcing Group, Australian Government Department of Health and Aged Care (the department). Member organisations represented at the meeting are at Attachment 1.

The purpose of the meeting was to discuss progress of the development of a draft Strengthening Medicare Monitoring and Evaluation Framework (the Framework) for the suite of measures and related initiatives within the broader Strengthening Medicare reforms.

Members discussed:

- the purpose of the Framework in the context of evaluation of individual Strengthening Medicare measures and related initiatives;
- the appropriateness of the scope, timelines and deliverables;
- potential evaluation questions and metrics;
- how to best measure the impact of reforms (incrementally and overall);
- challenges in collection of and access to appropriate data;
- the importance of linkages to the Quintuple Aim for health care and priorities identified in the Strengthening Medicare Taskforce report;
- the importance of monitoring and evaluation design principles reflecting the iterative nature of change; and
- the need to measure progress early to inform future implementation.

The department thanked members for their feedback and engagement, which will be used to refine and further develop the Framework.

Next meeting

The next meeting of the IOC is scheduled for March 2024.

Attachment 1:

Member organisations in attendance

Australian Association of Practice Management (AAPM)

Allied Health Professions Australia (AHPA)

Australian College of Midwives (ACM)

Australian College of Nurse Practitioners (ACNP)

Australian College of Rural and Remote Medicine (ACRRM)

Australian Indigenous Doctors' Association (AIDA)

Australian Medical Association (AMA)

Australian Primary Healthcare Nurses Association (APNA)

Australian Physiotherapy Association (APA)

Congress of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Nurses and Midwives (CATSINaM)

Consumers Health Forum of Australia (CHF)

Department of Health, Tasmania (on behalf of state and territory health jurisdictions)

Department of Health, Victoria (on behalf of state and territory health jurisdictions)

First Nations Representative from Consumers Health Queensland

National Rural Health Commissioner

People with Disability Australia (PWDA)

Pharmaceutical Society of Australia (PSA)

Royal Australian College of General Practitioners (RACGP)

Rural Doctors Association of Australia (RDAA)

Western Australia Primary Health Alliance (on behalf of Primary Health Networks)

Individual members in attendance

Professor Anthony Scott

Dr Steve Hambleton

Dr Walid Jammal