Rural Junior Doctor Training Innovation Fund

The Rural Junior Doctor Training Innovation Fund is part of the Junior Doctor Training Program under our Stronger Rural Health Strategy. This program funds organisations that provide innovative pathways for rurally based junior doctors to access training rotations in rural primary care settings.

About the RJDTIF

The Rural Junior Doctor Training Innovation Fund (RJDTIF) funds rurally based rotations for Postgraduate Year 1 (intern or PGY1) and Postgraduate Year 2 (PGY2) doctors in rural areas. The RJDTIF aims to:

  • provide rurally based junior doctors with a training period in a rural primary care setting, building on the rural training networks funded by the states and territories
  • develop rural training capacity by fostering innovative ways of training junior doctors in primary care settings
  • strengthen the rural training pathway to improve training continuity within regions.

The RJDTIF will be consolidated into the new John Flynn Prevocational Doctor Program on 1 January 2023. Current RJDTIF arrangements will continue until 31 December 2022.


The goals of the RJDTIF are to:

  • keep medical graduates and junior doctors in rural medical practice
  • increase rural medical training capacity
  • help develop a rural training pathway for medical education in a broader range of settings by improving rural training networks.

Meeting our goals 

The RJDTIF supports at least 60 full-time equivalent (FTE) places every year, comprising around 240 accredited rotations into primary care settings.

Settings include general practice or an Aboriginal Medical Service.

Rotations usually last between 8 to 12 weeks.

Funded organisations

The RJDTIF funds the following 15 organisations that provide training rotations for interns and PGY2s in a rural primary care setting:

Rotation locations

RJDTIF-funded rotations are in the following locations:

  • New South Wales – Bega, Coolamon, Cootamundra, Cowra, Finley, Port Macquarie, Wagga Wagga
  • Victoria – Hamilton, Heyfield, Lakes Entrance, Leongatha, Moe, Portland Trafalgar, Warrnambool
  • Tasmania – Currie, Devonport, Geeveston, Queenstown, Scottsdale, St Helens
  • Western Australia – Albany
  • Northern Territory – Nhulunbuy, Tennant Creek
  • Queensland – Ayr, Babinda, Bargara, Cannonvale, Charters Towers, Chillagoe, Clifton, Coen, Croydon, Einasleigh, Emerald, Forsayth, Georgetown, Greenvale, Goondiwindi, Hughenden, Ingham, Kowanyama, Lockhart, Mackay, Mount Surprise, Oakey, Pentland, Pormpuraaw, Ravenswood, Sarina, Theodore, Toowoomba City, Windermere
  • South Australia – Jamestown, Loxton, Mount Gambier, Naracoorte, Port Augusta, Port Lincoln.


Rural Junior Doctor Training Innovation Fund contact

Contact us to find out more about the Rural Junior Doctor Training Innovation Fund.
Date last updated:

Help us improve

If you would like a response please use the enquiries form instead.