Video message from health minister: nominate a Medicare Champion now!

Do you know a person, team or practice who goes above and beyond to improve the health of their community? Nominate them for a Stronger Medicare Award.

Date published:
General public

Health and support workers, health centres and teams working across primary health care are eligible for a Stronger Medicare Award. 

Common areas of primary health care include: 

  • general practices
  • Aboriginal Community Controlled Health Services
  • community nursing services
  • mental health services
  • and many more.

Watch the video below to hear more from the health minister.


Well do you know a Medicare Champion? Someone who goes above and beyond to benefit their patients. Well now is the time to nominate them for a Stronger Medicare award. 

To mark 40 Years of Medicare, the Albanese government is looking to honour and recognise the many people and teams who work to keep us healthy in primary care settings right across the country. 

Primary care is the first door Australians turn to when they have a health complaint. From general practice to mental health, physios and other allied health and everything in between. 

Medicare Champions are everyday people, health professionals, teams and practices that go above and beyond to improve the health of their patients or people in their community. 

So if you know someone working alone or as part of a team that provides exceptional care or embraces innovation then nominate them as a Medicare Champion. 

Anyone can submit a nomination until applications close on June 30. Visit for more information.

Nominations close on 30 June 2024.

To make a nomination or for more information, visit the Stronger Medicare Awards website.


Help us improve

If you would like a response please use the enquiries form instead.