Date published: 
12 December 2018
Intended audience: 
General public
Image of a cricket ground with players

Australia will be the first country to host the International Cricket Council (ICC) Women’s and Men’s T20 World Cups as separate events in the same country in 2020.

The announcement comes after Australia’s T20 women’s team won their fourth world title by defeating England in the World T20 final in Antigua in November.

The ICC has also announced that they will rename the tournament from ICC World T20 to ICC T20 World Cup.

Both tournaments will be held across Australia with matches to be played in:

  • Canberra
  • Geelong
  • Hobart
  • Brisbane
  • Adelaide
  • Perth
  • Melbourne
  • Sydney.

It is expected more than 100 000 international fans will attend. This will bring an increase in economic, cultural and community opportunities.

The Australian Government will continue its partnership with Cricket Australia and the Local Organising Committee to deliver a world class, safe and successful event.

For more information on ICC T20 World Cup, please see Minister McKenzie’s media release