Coronavirus (COVID-19) advice for travellers

Biosecurity measures and travel restrictions are in place to help prevent the spread of COVID-19.

Travel within Australia

Australians must avoid all non-essential domestic travel.

State and territory restrictions

States and territories can apply their own restrictions, including closing their state borders. Find out more about restrictions in your state or territory:

Remote area restrictions

The Australian Government is restricting travel to certain remote communities (designated areas). These restrictions aim to protect Community Elders and those already sick.

Before you can enter a designated area, you must self-isolate for 14 days.

If you are already in a designated area, stay there unless it is essential to leave for medical treatment.

To view the maps of designated areas and to find out more, see:

Flights with confirmed cases of COVID-19

States and territories are publishing details of flights where we know someone who was on board has been diagnosed with COVID-19.

You can check these lists to see whether you may have been in contact with a confirmed case.

Travel to Australia

Australia’s borders are closed. Only Australian citizens, residents and immediate family members can travel to Australia.

Read more in the Prime Minister's statement

Visit the Department of Home Affairs website for:

  • exemptions to travel restrictions
  • visa holders
  • visa conditions

Citizens and permanent residents returning to Australia

If you are an Australian citizen or permanent resident, you and your immediate family members can return to Australia.

You must self-isolate for 14 days from the day you return.

Changes from 11.59pm Saturday 28 March

From 11:59pm on Saturday 28 March 2020, all travellers arriving in Australia via air or seaports must undergo 14 days of isolation in the city of their arrival.

At overseas airports, Australian Border Force liaison officers will work with airlines to identify travellers who should not board flights.

The Australian Government will provide accommodation for the quarantine period.

If your final destination is in a different state or territory, you must still complete your quarantine in the state or territory you arrived in, before returning home.

States and territories will enforce these requirements with support from the Australian Government. This includes the Australian Defence Force and the Australian Border Force, if needed.


If you are on an international flight and show signs of an infectious disease:

  • the airline must report you to biosecurity officers
  • biosecurity officers will assess you before you get off the plane
  • you may be isolated or referred to a hospital

If you are unwell on a flight, you will be identified and referred for assessment when you arrive at your destination.

Air and maritime crews

Air and maritime crews must continue to undertake the existing precautions. This means self-isolating in your accommodation when you enter Australia.

Cruise ships

On 15 March, the Government announced a temporary ban on the entry of cruise ships that have left a foreign port. Australian cruise ships that are currently in progress are permitted to dock in Australia.

For more information about cruise ships, visit the Department of Home Affairs website.

Travel from Australia

There is a ban on all overseas travel, with few exceptions.

To find out more, go to Smartraveller’s coronavirus (COVID-10) information.

Stay informed

Whether you’re travelling in Australia or overseas, make sure you know the facts about COVID-19.

Keep informed through our COVID-19 news and media.


Visit the Smartraveller website regularly to check for international developments and subscribe to updates.

Consular assistance

View contact

Last updated: 
31 March 2020

Help us improve

If you would like a response please use the enquiries form instead.