National Hepatitis C Testing Policy May 2007


Page last updated: July 2007

ALT: alanine aminotransferase

APHDPC: Australian Population Health Development Principal Committee

BBVSS: Blood Borne Virus and Sexually Transmissible Infections Subcommittee of the APHDPC.

CALD: Culturally and Linguistically Diverse

CDNA: Communicable Diseases Network of Australia

EIA: enzyme immuno-assay

EPP: Exposure Prone Procedure

HCV: hepatitis C virus

HIV: human immunodeficiency virus

IDU: injecting drug use

IGCAHRD: Intergovernmental Committee on AIDS, Hepatitis C and Related Diseases

IVD: in-vitro diagnostic device

LFT: liver function test

MBS: Medicare Benefits Schedule

MSAC: Medicare Services Advisory Committee

NAT: nucleic acid test/testing

NATA: National Association of Testing Authorities

NHMRC: National Health and Medical Research Council

NPAAC: National Pathology Accreditation Advisory Committee

NRL: National Serology Reference Laboratory, Australia

PCR: polymerase chain reaction

PHLN: Public Health Laboratory Network

RCPA: Royal College of Pathologists of Australasia

RNA: ribonucleic acid

TGA: Therapeutic Goods Administration